LIARS, DAMN LIARS, AND REPUBLICANS

It’s galling, really, that they no longer even pretend to have any semblance of integrity.

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock for the last few weeks (yes, I know, some of you actually have), you know that there’s a big showdown in the Senate over the filibuster rule, currently used by the minority party to prevent objectionable judicial nominees from being confirmed by the Republican-controlled Senate. And the lies are flying so fast and furious, if you live in Washington DC you’ve probably got Republican lies splattered on your windshield.

Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, for example, decries what he calls “unprecedented obstructionism” on the part of the Democrats. In fact, the Dems have approved the vast majority of Bush’s judicial nominations without objection. Only the most ferocious right-wing candidates have been blocked.

As for the “unprecedented” part, what Frist hopes you won’t notice is that half of the vacancies in the federal judiciary date back to the Clinton administration. Clinton’s nominees were held up by the opposing party in committee- indefinitely. They didn’t get the coveted “up or down vote” either.

Republican Senator Rick Santorum says he meant no offense when he compared protesting Democrats to Adolf Hitler.

“Referencing Hitler was meant to dramatize the principle of an argument, not to characterize my Democratic colleagues,” Santorum, the No. 3 Republican in the GOP leadership in the Senate, said of his remarks Thursday.

Please. Anybody who invokes the name Adolf Hitler in an argument means offense. Lots of offense.

Then there’s the Liar-in-Chief, our President. He says he only appoints judges who will interpret the constitution, not legislate from the bench.

Excuse me?

Let’s face it, an “activist judge” is one who disagrees with you. Do the right-wing liars truly expect us to believe that it’s an accident that Bush’s controversial nominees all have extensive records of judgments that line up with the Christian right agenda?

Before anybody howls about the Democrats’ propensity for appointing judges that further THEIR agenda, let me assure you I would never claim otherwise. It’s just that, in my opinion, the left-wing agenda is preferable to the right-wing agenda.

And that makes me a left-wing truth teller.

11 thoughts on “

  1. Could I just gush for an hour or so about how it’s too bad we don’t live near each other so that together we could howl and protest and be like-minded?  Damn.  damn.  damn.

  2. Things have definitely swung too far to the right. And I voted republican (not like it matters in Illinois). Next time I go the other way. What interests me is who will be leading me that other way, ’cause there sure wasn’t a viable choice this last time. Yeah, I’m thinking about it already… 🙂

  3. You know, to this very day, I still get my left and my right confused.  Furthermore, I do believe that I am living under a rock… it’s much quieter under here!

  4. The senate showdown hasn’t made it into the news over this side of the pond.  I am with you all the way on this one though.  The philibuster was introduced for a reason.  Likewise the law is not static.  It evolves to fit the society it governs.  Therefore, its creators and defenders should not be dinosaurs.  Don’t get me started on the politics.  I get quite riled up.  It is one of the things that me and Big Guy agree to disagree on.  He has his views (which are blatantly wrong ) and I have mine.

  5. “And the lies are flying so fast and furious, if you live in Washington DC you’ve probably got Republican lies splattered on your windshield.”
    In the spirit of bipartisanship (even though I’m totally ‘partisan’), I’d like to point out that if you live in Washington D.C. you’ve probably got lies from BOTH parties splattered all over your windshield. 🙂

  6. Oh my god, there’s so much worthwhile information here! link 3 8. Here, I do not actually think this is likely to have success. 2 4 6. It can’t truly have effect, I consider like this. 2 check 7. The guy is totally just, and there is no skepticism.

Leave a Reply

