1985

Thanks to a pal with a cd burner, my eight year old now plays “1985,” by Bowling for Soup, at top volume on her pink Barbie boom box, about 150 times a day. (I must admit, “Bowling for Soup” is a great name for a rock band.)

“I like this song,” I told my husband as he covered his ears with his hands.

“Of course you do,” he replied. “It’s about you.”

The lyrics:

Debbie just hit the wall
She never had it all
One Prozac a day
Husband’s a CPA
Her dreams went out the door
When she turned twenty four
Only been with one man
What happened to her plan?

Ok, wait a minute. That’s not me. Technogeek is not a CPA. I don’t take Prozac anymore, since Reverend Tom Cruise told me not to. And as for that “only been with one man” thing… well, let’s just say that’s true. Since I got married.

She was gonna be an actress
She was gonna be a star
She was gonna shake her ass
On the hood of Whitesnake’s car
Her yellow SUV is now the enemy
Looks at her average life
And nothing has been
Alright!

I admit, I’m not crazy about Tigger listening to these lyrics. But I figure if I make a Big Stinking Deal about it, she’ll just sneak out and listen to pop music in some dark alley.

Since Bruce Springsteen, Madonna
Way before Nirvana
There was U2 and Blondie
And music still on MTV
Her two kids in high school
They tell her that shes uncool
‘Cause she’s still preoccupied
With 19, 19, 1985

Now, although I was still the appropriate age for pop music in the 80’s, I never liked Madonna, though I did like Weird Al Yankovic’s version of “Like a Virgin.”

She’s seen all the classics
She knows every line
Breakfast Club,
Pretty In Pink
Even St. Elmo’s Fire
She rocked out to Wham!
Not a big Limp Bizkit fan
Thought she’d get a hand
On a member of Duran Duran

Guess I can’t argue with that any of that.

Where’s the mini-skirt made of snakeskin?
And who’s the other guy that’s singing in Van Halen?
When did reality become T.V.?
What ever happened to sitcoms, game shows or the radio?

I did NOT have a miniskirt made out of snakeskin. Ever. Mine was alligator.

(Chorus)

She hates time; make it stop
When did Motley Crue become classic rock? (classic rock)
And when did Ozzy become an actor?
Please make this stop, stop, stop! (tick tick tick tick tick tick)

Good questions, all of them! So I don’t mind hearing the song again and again. And again. I even dance around Tigger’s bedroom with her. It won’t be long before I’m not allowed in there anymore, and she chooses songs guaranteed to annoy me, rather than songs that are about me.

22 thoughts on “

  1. I adore this song.  It’s in my car right now.  I listen to it on the way to work, and it makes me happy.  And it makes me happy to know that it makes someone else happy, too.  And those are excellent questions, except that I’m not sure that Ozzie has in fact become an actor–obviously he’s become something, but actor may be stretching it.  I particurlarly like the choice of “Debbie.”  Whatever happened to the name Debbie, anyway?  I went to high school with something like fourteen Debbies and there are no Debbie’s below the age of thirty…

  2. I’m a touch old to relate directly to this song. (My name “catherine” is even getting recycled now and showing up in young people. ) But I would have loved to shake my ass on Whitesnake’s car anyway. I’ve grown to like Madonna too. Before her there were almost no female popstars.

  3. Ah, the first song I downloaded onto my iPod from iTunes. My DH replaces the line “Even St. Elmo’s Fire” with “Even the Princess Bride”. Because not only am I of the appropriate age, I’m a…….*coughfantasygeekcough*….yeah.

  4. I love all these old songs. They sure aren’t like that now. Have a great weekend. Thanks for the trip down memory lane today.

  5. i love that song. i never hear it though cause we have some of the worst radio stations in the world in my little town. and i can’t keep up with who sings who and buy and all that… i’m lazy. but i do love that song and i so want to ride on the top of whitesnakes car!

  6. Yeah, what the bloody hell happened to MTV? If they were still “all music videos all the time” then I might have a clue about today’s music. “The Real World”, oy, ought to change the name of that show to “REAL stupid and selfish twits”!
    ryc: I dunno…….I think that Commissioner Gordon would’ve liked to start something with Batman, but that creeeeepy butler kept getting in the way! Darn, can’t remember the butlers name right now!
    As for the stereotypical Irish cop that was always by Commissioner Gordon’s side when he dialed the batphone, I think cop had his eye on Robin.

  7. I guess there’s something good about having been with only one man (or with only one woman, as the case may be), but I’m convinced it’s a good thing to have been with more than one woman, just to know that variety exists.  I mean, how otherwise would I know?

  8. I absolutely HATE that song.  I think it’s insulting, assuming someone has a wasted “average” life?  In 1985 I was seventeen and I happen to think I’m a lot cooler and like my life a lot better now!!  Although I do still listen to the same music… just saw Duran Duran in concert again last year 🙂 
    But I know what you mean…  my almost 8-year-old has discovered Greenday and Maroon 5 and others that he’s claiming as “his” music – I happen to like both Greenday and Maroon 5, so it’s not annoying at all, but it’s just funny that MY kid can have an opinion on pop music now!  That’s my turf! 

  9. “So I don’t mind hearing the song again and again. And again. I even dance around Tigger’s bedroom with her. It won’t be long before I’m not allowed in there anymore, and she chooses songs guaranteed to annoy me, rather than songs that are about me.”
    🙂

  10. That’s a great song.  I’ve only heard it a couple times, but that was enough for me to love it!
    Thanks for the sympathies … things are looking up a bit, now.

Leave a Reply

