LEONARDO WAS NOT JUST A NINJA TURTLE

Holy conspiracy, I just read Dan Brown’s DaVinci Code. I know, I’m the last person on the planet to read it, as evidenced by the fact that I was able to find it at the library. In the context of a suspense thriller, the book presents some theories about early Christianity and the nature of the Holy Grail that I had never heard before, although apparently they are not new.

Would it be a spoiler to tell you what the Holy Grail is? Maybe not, since everyone’s already read the book, but just in case, I won’t. However, in Brown’s view, the Truth has been sneakily incorporated into everything from architecture to fairy tales. And of course, the art of DaVinci.

It’s also just a fun, fast-paced read with plenty of plot twists. So if you are one of the 12 people left who haven’t read it, pick it up. It’s now available at your local library.

In other news, my infrequently blogging husband has posted a review of the Kaz Winery, which has no connection whatsoever to our own Ed Kaz. And the port was really good.

18 thoughts on “

  1. I haven’t read it yet. Guess I just haven’t been in the mood. Are they going to make a DaVinci code movie? (Oh man, please don’t tell me they already have! Hate to think I’m that far out of the loop!)

  2. My lit teacher recommended it to me two years ago: she had nothing but glowing comments on it. I thought it was fun, but I wouldn’t read it again.I’ve heard they will make a movie, but I know no details.

  3. I’m sorry to say I also haven’t read it yet. It’s on the list, so I’ll get to it. I was told to read the other one first. (Something and Demons??)Mmm…port. Reminds me of last Christmas, when my sister and I sat around every night and pretended we were little old ladies. Or maybe we weren’t pretending. I can’t really remember…

  4. OH! That is such a good book. Check out the book he wrote before that one – Angels & Demons. I actually liked it a bit better (although both are excellent)

  5. I haven’t read it because I am picky about the fiction I read. I write more fiction than I read. I prefer to read non-fiction, then write fiction based on it. Seems to work for me.

  6. As a rule, I avoid any book about Christianity that hits the best-seller list.  Otherwise I would be forced to read books like the Left Behind series and I would prefer to drink the kool-aid first. 

  7. I was one of the twelve- i read it about two months ago and love it. I don’t understand all the controversy over it though- it’s not as though Dan Brown wrote it intending for us to believe it true. It’s more of a “what if” kind of book.
    Yes, a movie is coming out next summer- I saw the world’s shortest commercial. It did not show anything except a shot of the Mona Lisa and a long shot of the pyramid. But Tom Cruise is in it. I guess it’s gonna stir things up again…cue the constant interviews with Dan Brown, religious leaders, authors of similar books, a random hobo who saw a picture of the book once…isn’t the media great?
    ~kristen

  8. I was one of the twelve- i read it about two months ago and love it. I don’t understand all the controversy over it though- it’s not as though Dan Brown wrote it intending for us to believe it true. It’s more of a “what if” kind of book.
    Yes, a movie is coming out next summer- I saw the world’s shortest commercial. It did not show anything except a shot of the Mona Lisa and a long shot of the pyramid. But Tom Cruise is in it. I guess it’s gonna stir things up again…cue the constant interviews with Dan Brown, religious leaders, authors of similar books, a random hobo who saw a picture of the book once…isn’t the media great?
    ~kristen

  9. I was one of the twelve- i read it about two months ago and love it. I don’t understand all the controversy over it though- it’s not as though Dan Brown wrote it intending for us to believe it true. It’s more of a “what if” kind of book.
    Yes, a movie is coming out next summer- I saw the world’s shortest commercial. It did not show anything except a shot of the Mona Lisa and a long shot of the pyramid. But Tom Cruise is in it. I guess it’s gonna stir things up again…cue the constant interviews with Dan Brown, religious leaders, authors of similar books, a random hobo who saw a picture of the book once…isn’t the media great?
    ~kristen

  10. I haven’t read it either, but I get a kick out of my favorite priest who occaisionally rants during his homilies about people who “learned everything they know about Catholicism from The DaVinci Code.”

Leave a Reply

