SNOW

Snow fell in Seattle
today—an event so rare that every time it happens everyone immediately
leaps in their car and starts driving someplace, lest they be caught
later in the heavy traffic caused by drivers panicked by the snow.  The illogic of this seems lost on all Seattleites.  I can’t explain it.

Me, I did what any proper mother would do in this situation.  I cooked up a batch of my world famous cream of butternut squash soup and forced my hapless children to eat it.

 TR’s Cream of Butternut Squash Soup

1
medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut in large cubes (if you
didn’t guess that would be in the recipe, leave now and go to Burger
King)

1 onion, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

6 cups vegetable broth

salt

thyme

summer savory

cream

 

1.    Saute onion and celery in olive oil.  Yeah, I left the oil out of the ingredient list.  So sue me.

2.    Add squash, broth, salt, thyme, and savory.  How much of the spices?  I don’t know, just toss some in there.

3.    Bring to a boil and then lower heat.  Simmer until the squash is soft.  I don’t know how long.  Check on it once in a while, ok?

4.    Turn off heat.  Get out your handy-dandy immersion blender and puree the heck out of it.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, and really, you should, use the food processor. 

5.    Add cream.  Not too much, just enough to whiten it, you know.

6.    Gently reheat, being careful not to boil it, or you will be sorry.

7.    Yum.

Really, the kids liked it.  At least they said they did.  They know who has the keys to the dessert cupboard, after all.

Note
for those of you who never eat anything that didn’t come in a box:
butternut squash is similar to pumpkin in taste, color, and
texture.  Try it, you’ll like it.

25 thoughts on “

  1. Squash soup?  Is Burger King still an option?
    I sympathize with you about the snow.   The least little flurry here sends the whole city into a panic, and lines form at the grocery store to buy bread and milk.

  2. Not that I would eat squash soup, but your recipe reads like I cook.  I can’t ever recreate something because I don’t know how many tablespoons of cream it takes to whiten the darn broth.  I make a good lasagne.

  3. Sounds good. I made lobster bisque last night. I was the only one who adored (ate) it.I was also the only one who suffered with six hours of gas pains and spent three hours of quality time with my toilet.tmi?

  4. I love butternut squash soup. Just made it for the first time last year. My recipe had an apple in it, in addition to most of what you mentioned. Cooking by sight and taste is great. Oh, mine had cinnamon and nutmeg too. Try it!  You got snow. We got wind and rain–and no power for a few hours. But it was back on in time for dinner, just as I was thinking about barbecuing in the rain.

  5. *my pillow tucked under my arm*”Hello? Hello?”*knocks louder*”But you said…”*peers around, eyeing warm, soft, sofa*”Hey, you locked the doo… Oh my. It’s snowing”You’re mean.

  6. I think you’re right.  It always annoys me when I’ve got music going on the computer only to have somone else’s come right over the top of it.  So I’ll probably just skip the whole music thing.

  7. RYC:  In my immediate family, no.  In my daily life, yes.  (Now I need to go make some butternut squash soup, but if it’s okay with you, I’m gonna substitute eggplant for the squash).

  8. I love squash soup. I make it with a potato instead of cream and/or with black beans. Funny that it’s snowy in Seattle but way above freezing and damp in Atlantic Canada.

  9. we got snow, but I live right outside Chicago, so people just drive like they have 4 wheel drive when they don’t so they end up spining all over the road. RYC: Thank yo, much appreciated.

  10. People here act like that in snow too and we get it all the time.  You’re the second subscriber to mention squash in a recent post.  I love it.  I didn’t know making the coup was so easy.

  11. That sounds really good… I wish I wasn’t in the dorm where cooking is a huge ordeal… I never have all the ingredients I need on hand and if I go and buy them, since I’m only cooking for one person things go to waste…   maybe I’ll make it when I go home.

  12. I’ve always wanted to be in Seattle in January during their winter festival celebrating rain or whatever.  When I vacationed in Seattle a few years ago, I was there during 4th of July week.  It was fun!  I loved every moment out there. 

  13. Sounds yummy, I’m gonna try that recipe. As for the snow, Hell the people here in the midwest forget how to drive in the snow, and they just did it six months ago. We got 2.6 inches of snow yesterday, and I saw more people sliding all over the place like they hadn’t driven in it before. Morons.

  14. Hey! Thanks for stopping by!that recipe sounds good! I’m lookingfor some new one’s, so I might just tryit.Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

