HOW TO ACT LIKE A MAN DURING WINTER BREAK

1. Take two children already hyperized by Christmas decorating and having been up too late the night before.

2. Spend 20 minutes roughhousing with them, bringing their hyperactivity levels up to a fever pitch.

3. Stand up, brush your hands off, and announce, “Well, I have to go now.”

4. Leave while over-excited children are tying their mother to the Christmas tree with tinsel.

You’d BETTER bring Thai take-out home for dinner, buster.

AFTERNOON UPDATE

After the kids released me from the tree, I took them to
Safeway, because Gungaboy alerted me to the existence of Chanukah candles
there.  Sure enough, there in the
itty-bitty Jewish food section, nestled amongst the matzoh balls and gefilte
fish, I found six boxes of Chanukah candles occupying about 4 inches of shelf
space.  I guess John Gibson was right
after all.

I bought all six boxes of candles, so I would be spared the
hunt for a few years.  Or I could conduct
my own personal War On Christmas by lighting six menorahs at once.

Not to worry, Christian friends, I also bought ingredients
for Christmas cookies.  They are in the
oven as I type, thanks to the able assistance of the resident hooligans.

My Grammy’s
Butterballs

1 cup butter
½ cup sugar
2 eggs,
separated
2 ¼  cups flour
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped
walnuts
red and green
candied cherries

 

  1. Cream butter and sugar
  2. Add beaten egg yolks
  3. Add sifted flour and salt
  4. Mix well
  5. Shape dough into 1 inch balls
  6. Roll balls in slightly beaten egg
    whites
  7. Roll balls in chopped nuts
  8. Press ½ cherry on top of each one
  9. Bake at 325° for 25-30 minutes

Little Bit put her cherry halves on cut-side up, but most
people prefer them the other way.  And we
left the nuts off half the cookies, for nut-averse children.

Oh, glory be, Technogeek is home with Thai food!

AND FURTHERMORE

It has come to my attention that my brother
does not remember Grammy’s Butterballs.  I cannot imagine how this
is possible.  What was he doing while I was in Grammy’s kitchen
eating cookies? 

The other question, of course, is why my Jewish grandmother was making Christmas cookies.

Well why not?

THE EXPLANATION

Courtesy of my mother, who really needs to post something:

Ok, Your Jewish Grammy, who happened to be my Jewish Mother, never
thought of those butterballs as Christmas cookies…at least she would
have NEVER said so out loud where my Father, your Grandpa could have
heard her!  They were just cookies she “happened” to make around this
time of year.  Please accept this explanation or Grandpa is likely to
come back to haunt all of us!  Also, I have no idea why your brother
doesn’t remember those cookies.  He certainly ate enough of them!

And there you have it.

 

37 thoughts on “

  1. Swimming Rama ChickenPhad See Iw ChickenGinger PrawnsSpring Rolls (double order, for Little Bit, served with catsup)Thai Iced TeaI got Chanukah candles too, really pretty hand dipped ones, at the Jewish Stuff store.I’m done with my ChriSolstiKa (ChanaSolstiMas?) shopping. Everything except for the pink ski poles, and maybe one or two or three other things.

  2. After reading your post on Friday, I kept an eye out for Jewish items while I was on my shopping spree.  I have to admit that I do not remember seeing one thing!  I also must say that I do not remember seeing any Nativity sets either.  Hmm, weird.  

  3. I should have told you… Bed bath and beyond and Linens and Things always have a selection befitting our minority standing.(And they are ususally cute, not the standard blue and white plain ones.)My question is why does your brother celebrate Christmas when there is a perfectly fine holiday in December that also includes latkes and a lovely fire hazard (aka a menorah?) Those (x-mas) cookies must have (subconsiously) left quite and impression!

  4. ‘Cept he doesn’t read here unless I’m particularly clever or witty and shlep the computer to him. This is, obviously, not the case tonight. I’ll go buy the stuff tomorrow!;)

    I did make him read Rachel’s! 🙂

  5. How? By… (I was gonna make a reference to yesterday’s comment… but I think we’ve all heard enough about my non-existent…)Honestly, The real me? I think he’s better off not knowing. It’s worked for 20 years…(fifteen years discussing my hair and make-up was enough for him. I try not to talk to him too much anymore. lmao)

  6. Ok, Your Jewish Grammy, who happened to be my Jewish Mother, never thought of those butterballs as Christmas cookies…at least she would have NEVER said so out loud where my Father, your Grandpa could have heard her!  They were just cookies she “happened” to make around this time of year.  Please accept this explanation or Grandpa is likely to come back to haunt all of us!  Also, I have no idea why your brother doesn’t remember those cookies.  He certainly ate enough of them!

  7. I finally found candles too. Ours were in the card section on a display under the Christmas stuff. There was one box left in a non Jewish area, Unless that’s all they bought which would not surprise me.

  8. Oh, thank you for the wonderful cookie recipe from a very loving grandmother of your’s. You’ve shared something very special and as I make these with my grandson, you and your grandmother I invite (in flesh and blood or just spirit, alone (HA), to join us with a cup of hot milk).  Thanks sweetie and bless you. 
    Happy Holidays.  Hugs, Lisa

  9. Three cheers for your Jewish Grammy!This morning, I copied your recipe and later made a batch of the things.I confess I left off the colored cherries, but the cookies are delightful.Thanks for including the recipe in your blog!Peace and best for whatever today happens to be!

  10. Your father does not remember the “Christmas” cookies either.   Too much ado about these cookies.  Everybody knows chocolate chip are the best.  Well, at least you have a six year supply of Chanukah candles.

Leave a Reply

