YOUR QUESTIONS

You are
probably wondering if it is raining in
Seattle yet again.

Why yes, it
is!  Day 26.

You are
probably also wondering why I’m in bed with blankets pulled up to my chin in
the middle of the day.  Oh wait, you
can’t see me, can you?  CAN YOU?

Well, I am
in bed because I am in the grip of a virus. 
The sore throat, the chills, and the muddled, fuzzy brain in spite of a
total absence of alcohol convinced me to leave work and get back in bed. 

It seems the
cat isn’t feeling well either, because he’s here too.  Oh wait, he’s ALWAYS in bed in the middle of
the day.  Slacker.

Thank God
for this laptop, without which I would now be watching Jerry Springer parade
teenaged girls who sleep with their mothers’ boyfriends’ uncles before a jeering
studio audience. 

If I watch
daytime TV for long enough, I start to think that attending the Acme School of
Career Training is a good idea, and that I CAN have a fabulous career as a
Medical Transcriptionist.  I also start
to feel a powerful urge to buy a device that shrink wraps my leftovers, and
another one that shrink wraps my out-of-season clothes. 

Before you
know it I’d be watching Oprah and would feel simultaneously empowered and
jealous because, being home in bed and not in the studio audience, I didn’t get
the swag.

You know I
could free associate my way through several more paragraphs, but I think I’ll
stop here.  Guess I’ll see what’s on
TV.  Can’t go outside, anyway.  It’s raining.

43 thoughts on “

  1. Feel better, I could be mane and tease you about being sick. i think I recall someone doing that to me, but I won’t. This time. I hate Jerry, too much fighting, but let me recomend Maurry ( sp).Highley entertaining, boot camp for bad teens, and paternity tests galore. It’s really fasinating, the cat might even like it.

  2. Be careful with that daytime TV while you’re sick. You know what they say -feed a cold, never watch daytime TV with a virus. Isn’t that what they say? Anyway, I’m quite sure it fuels the virus. You might want to try popping in a movie instead. . .

  3. You made me think of when everyone was convinced that we would all have video phones…my dad always said they’d never be popular because then when you tried to call in sick your boss would see you were actually dressed in your golf clothes, or when you tried to tell a long-winded friend you were leaving they’d see you were in your jammies…that’s all.

  4. Maybe the absence of alcohol is the problem.
    Or maybe you picked up something extra from the discount store the other day.
    Don’t bother with Maury.  The ending is always the same.  “He is NOT the father.  But you can try again tomorrow with one of the other dozen or so losers you slept with that week.”

  5. It normally doesn’t rain this much, we are in a banana belt over in the islands- we usually get one day rain then nice and alternating… (Bellingham is just the closest ‘metro’)

  6. RYC: Glad to see your sense of humor is still intact, virus withstanding. Fine 75 cents, but that’s as high as I am going. By the way, I get so many comments because when I was off work for two weeks ( without pay I might add ) I went to random sites and commented. I think I would have been better off watching Jerry.

  7. Daytime TV sucks. And I’m a SAHM. I just turn if off unless the girls want to watch some cartoons. But hey though… I like Oprah…
    It’s wet here too — I’m in Springfield, OR now. Goodness.
    I hope you feel better and soon!

  8. A big-city counterfeiter decided the best place to pass off his phony $18 bills would be in some small hick Texas town. So, he got into his new wheels and off he went.He found a tiny town with a single store. He entered the store and handed one of the bogus bills to the man behind the counter. “Can you change this for me, please?” he said.The store clerk looked at the $18 bill a short time, then smiled and told the man, “Ah reckon so, Mister. Ya want 2 nines or 3 sixes?”

  9. I could never live without my laptop.  From the moment I bought my first one, I realized it was the computer for me.  Moving back and fourth from college to home would have been miserable had my PC not been able to snuggle nicely in it’s leather case.

  10. I’m sorry to hear that you’re feeling poorly. You indicated in your last post that you are unwilling to share your rain. I just wanted to share that I heard on the radio that due to our extended drought, we just passed the 400,000 acre mark of land lost to wildfires, not to mention the 280 individual homes and businesses that have burned in those fires. But I don’t want that kind of news to make you feel worse. Just go ahead and stay cuddled up in bed and look out your hazy, rain soaked windows, at the damp green earth, and get to feeling better.  

  11. How can you possibly be that ill and still so amusing?  And really, late night television is even worse than daytime t.v., or at least it was when I was nursing my son some nine years ago.  I hope you feel better soon, and I hope you’ll send that rain our way.  I’d prefer rain to fire any day.

  12. I kind of miss daytime tv. It’s comforting to know that no matter how long I stay away from General Hospital or Days of Our Lives, they’re still trying to tie up storylines from 3 decades ago so it’s not like I missed anything. Get well soon.

  13. I second your laptop — because you know how I feel about Oprah!  However, are you forgetting the miracle of cable — or have things changed too much from when I was living back there in the States.  Is there not a constant Law and Order marathon on — I used to love that about daytime TV.
    Feel better rabbit!

  14. Every visit we make,  there seems to be this awful ongoing drought even though. it’s pouring cats and bears.   Will you officially declare the drought OVER when you start building the ark?

  15. You must have watched the Oprah episode where she gave everyone in the home audience a wretched virus.RYC: Yes, I do iron my sheets. I spray them with scented water so the bed smells wonderful when I climb into it at night and it helps me relax enough to go to sleep. I don’t recommend it to everyone.

  16. Free association and flight of ideas is fun!!! Yeah!!!!!!!
    I have to admit that I’m a sucker for the afternoon court shows. Judge Judy kicks ass! But oy, those damn commercials. There’s one in this area for a medical transcriptionist course with this swell line: “Want to be in the medical profession but can’t stand the sight of blood?”. Ugh. I just want to smack those people and tell them not to bother. Because I don’t care if you’re a transcriptionist or a secretary—sometimes the doc and the nurses need some help moving a patient in an emergency and you just can’t be fainting or throwing up in the corner!!! Damn. 

  17. Night-time t.v. is bad, too. Once, I almost ordered a 20 cd set of old country music. I don’t even listen to country music.Let’s just say there was NOT a total absence of alcohol. But luckily I passed out before I could find the phone.
    Hope you feel better! And that it stops raining.

  18. I so hope you are on the mend.  You’ve picked up a good one here and yes – to me, in bed with covers and a blanket with electrical warmth always seems to fill up those holes of illness inside me.  I hope the same is for you. Feel better, ok?  Need any cheering up?  Let us know. 
    Hugs, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

