FUTURE MARTIANS OF AMERICA

 

My five-year-old is a curious tyke.  Right now the object of her curiosity is gravity.  I got her some books on the subject, with which she was singularly unimpressed.  These books are aimed at preschoolers, and basically say that things fall down because of gravity.

 

“I knew THAT,” Little Bit complained.  “I want to know HOW GRAVITY WORKS.”

 

Problem is, no one seems to have written any gravity books for elementary aged kids.  It goes from I Fall Down to high school physics textbooks with nothing in between. 

 

Little Bit is also fascinated by Mars.  Luckily, there’s lots of material available on that topic.  Each night I read to her from one of our stack of Mars books.  She understands very little of what I read, but she still wants to hear it.

 

Things I learned about Mars this evening:

 

Because of its red color, ancient peoples associated the planet with blood.  The Romans named it Mars after their god of war. 

 

From a 15th century German manuscript on astrology:

 

Mars rules catastrophes and war, it is master of the daylight hours of Tuesday and the hours of darkness on Friday.  Its
qualities are warm and dry, it rules the color red, the liver, the
blood vessels, the kidneys and the gallbladder as well as the left ear.  Being of choleric temper it especially rules males between the ages of 42 and 57.

 

The left ear?  Who knew?

 

Tigger came home from school all excited about the third grade camp experience planned for later this year.  She learned today that parent attendance at this overnight-for-two-nights camp is OPTIONAL.

 

“You are NOT going,” she informed me.  “NO WAY.”

 

“Are you sure you’re ready for that?  Really?”

 

(On her way up the stairs) “I’m going to start packing.  Ta!”

 

“The trip’s not ‘til May!” I called up the stairs.

 

SLAM went her bedroom door.

 

Good thing there are no pre-k overnight field trips to Mars.

 

21 thoughts on “

  1. When my baby was in kindy she refused to let me come on their spring camping trip. I was heartbroken, she was insistent. I really only wanted to go to hand out with her teachers. I ended up going up one morning to help cook breakfast. By 1st grade I was welcomed again and I was the only parent that spent the night for the 1st grade camping trip last spring. Our school encourages that kind of independence though with the first overnight trip happening within the first two months of school even in kindergarten.

  2. I don’t know if this is in the books or not, but isn’t gravity relative to the size (mass) of the object? Like for instance, the moon is smaller than the earth so there is less gravity, where as Jupiter is bigger so there is more gravity.

  3. My favorite Calvin and Hobbs cartoon shows Calvin floating around his classroom above his desk. When the teacher asks him what he’s doing, he replies that his parents forgot to pay the gravity bill.
    RYC: It not only improved my vision, but it whitened my teeth and gave me a tan.

  4. There is a Physics book by a guy named Hobson that’s pretty good for its explanation of gravity.  Granted, it’s a college level textbook, but *I* was able to understand it, and when it comes to math and science, call me Forest Gump.
    It’s interesting though – Newton figured out that the way the moon rises and “falls” over the horizon of the Earth in its orbit is the same way an apple, if you throw it sideways, eventually falls closer to the earth.  If you could throw an apple hard and fast enough, it would just go around and around the Earth indefinitely. 
    Good luck with the science lesson, though.  🙂

  5. LOL and U know they will keep telling U your not going till they graduate.. LOL.. my boys were so funny they say NO don’t go then they say. the day before U coming.. and I am like WHAT now U tell me .. LOL but now I just know .. NOT.. as they are to big.. Enjoy those yrs.. they go fast..

  6. Slammed the door, huh?   Hmmmm.  I heard a few of those when SouthForkCheerMom was growing up.  LOL
    Gravity…………..what a deep subject for her…..does she EVER think of dolls and such?  ::giggle::

  7. Chip has a book that Little Bit might like.  It’s called “Where does the Moon Go?” by Sidney Rosen.  It mostly about the phases of the moon, but it relates to gravity by explaining how orbits work.

  8. Research had been going on for many years as to the invention of the toothbrush. Researchers knew the purpose of the device, but wanted to know and acknowledge the originating location. After a very long and exasperating study the researchers came to their conclusion as to the origin of the toothbrush. It was decided that the brush was invented in Kentucky. Intrigued with the discovery, the researchers were asked by the media how they came to the conclusion. They all agree it was simple deduction, “If it was invented anywhere else, it would have been called a teethbrush.”

  9. I’m a dog person and not a kid person, so when I say that your Tigger is even cuter than my dogs, you can take that as a very sincere and very high compliment!
    Note to SunnyCalifornia:  I’d comment on your site, but my ‘puter won’t let me.

Leave a Reply

