C-SECTIONS AND SOUP

 

I read in the paper today
that a new study shows that if large numbers of women birth their
babies by elective, scheduled c-sections, nothing terrible will happen
and their doctors will get to play golf that weekend.

 

I’ve never understood all the hullabaloo about c-sections anyway.  There’s
a small but loud contingent that believes that anything other than
unmedicated vaginal birth constitutes a moral failing and is tantamount
to child abuse.  (Full disclosure: both my kids were born by c-section.  Both were Medically Necessary, but I will spare you the gory details.)

 

This contingent wants childbirth to be a mystical rather than a medical event.  I don’t buy it.  There’s nothing mystical about reproduction.  It’s just basic mammalian biology.  It may be “natural” to squat in the field and drop the baby in the grass, but I’m a big fan of modern medicine.  Note that I’m sitting here typing at you and my kids are alive and healthy.  I can’t say for sure that that would be the case in the field squatting scenario.

 

So ladies, feel free
to schedule your child’s birth, after a lengthy discussion of pros and
cons with your doctor, doula, midwife, shaman, or whatever.  Light candles and play Tibetan monk chants if it makes you feel better.  There’s going to be blood either way.

 

And now, per avasouth’s request, here is

 

TR’s Super Easy Broccoli Soup

 

2 big bunches broccoli, chopped

4 cloves garlic, sliced

¼ cup olive oil

¼ cup white wine

½ tsp thyme

4 cups vegetable broth

salt and pepper

½ cup cream

 

Put everything except the cream in the slow cooker.  Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 5-6 hours.  Or you can cook it quickly on the stove if you like.  I don’t care.

 

Use an immersion blender to whir the soup to the consistency you like.  Stir in cream.  Burn yourself on the crock (optional).  Done.

 

Family ratings:

Momà thumbs up

Kidsà will eat it if they have to

Dadà will not touch it

 

Note: this makes a fairly garlicky soup.  If you don’t like garlic, don’t come around here anymore.

 

Just kidding.

 

Well, no, not really kidding.

 

 

31 thoughts on “

  1. Don’t have any wine, but as oceanstar says, it’s a good excuse to buy some.    Of course, I will pare down the fat in it if I can.   I’m surprised there is no cheese.   My daughter, Molly used to work at a place that made the most delicious broccoli cheese soup.    I like broccoli most any way.  Tonight it’s broccoli rice and there’s no recipe, just what I happen to have on hand.
    Thanks again.
    ava

  2. Great recipe! I think I will try it . No meat!As for the C-section thing – LC had one and had to have one. I will also spare the details.I find it strange sometimes that modern medicine and science seems to be so disdained by so many people people. Homeopathy, astrology, iridology…other things….have so many believers – its astounding.

  3. Haha, why is it that I feel compelled to say that I had one vaginal birth and two C-sections?  Having done it both ways, I’d definitely pick the C-sections every time!  I, too, will spare the gory details.
    The soup sounds really good.  Cheese on top would be great, too!  I’ll make the tumb burning optional, thanks!
    Kathi

  4. But the danger is doctors bullying women who don’t want C-sections into having them anyway–telling them that vaginal childbirth will make them incontinent, etc. Besides the convenience factor, doctors collect a much higher fee for perfoming a C-section, so I don’t think all doctors neccessarily have their patients’ best interests in mind when discussing elective C-sections. And surgery is always risky.I don’t think anyone should be required to have a transcendent, natural birth, but I also don’t think doctors should manipulate women into believing that C-sections are safer and less risky than vaginal birth. (And of course I realize that modern medicine has saved many babies who would have died otherwise, and of course that’s a very good thing, but I’m one of those who sighs at the overmedicalization of routine, uncomplicated childbirth.)

  5. Always greener on the side of the fence.. C-section certainly seems covenient but isnt the recovery time longer?
    and scars…. Im not sure I have many friends who had them…I like modern medicine too..like epidurals..Im a big fan when the timing on them is right!

  6. The recipe sounds pretty darn good.
    Both of my daughters were born via c-section. That thing about a woman looking like she’s built for birthing? Utter crap. LOL. I’m wide-hipped, but those hips sure didn’t move when it came time for my girls to enter the world. Thank goodness for modern science. I have two beauitiful little girls as a result.

  7. 1: I make a similar soup with potatoes and no cream. 2: What Daylily said. Plus, there are risks to C-sections (such as respiratory distress, complications from the surgery, complications from the epidural or sad, freak accident ) and it may make breastfeeding and baby care much more difficult. Many C-sections are necessary. Many aren’t. Lying about either safety or necessity isn’t helpful or fair.

  8. Hi…thanks for stopping by my site:)   The reason why I wouldn’t want to have a scheduled c section is because I would think the recovery time for the cut would be much lengthier than healing up the other way….but then I’ve never had a c section so don’t know that for sure.

  9. The soup sounds yummy.  I may try it, although I’m a little afraid it would get thumbs up from Mom and “won’t touch it with a ten foot pole” from everyone else.  We’ll see.
    We did our first, pick-your-own-b’day, scheduled induction with #5.   It was pretty nice having the kids taken care of, house straightened up, and what not.

  10. I seem to recall something my doctor told me about how the baby’s lungs, when they don’t have to fight their way out of the birth canal, don’t develop as fully or some such crap.  It sounds like crap now but he sent me home until I was in full-blown labor, knowing I was having a C-section.  I went back the next morning and had the kid.  Maybe it was because it was two weeks early.

  11. I’m making that soup and chainsawmom’s salad THIS weekend. It’s time I get to eat something I like!
    You and RachelsMommy have no worry about your scars. I have one sideways from my c-section and then the other one from my recent operation that begins above my navel and crosses all the way down and joins my c-section scar. So I’m the mommy with the UGLIEST belly ever! Send me some vitamin e oil out of sympathy…. J/K
    I have two c-section born children and they are healthy 14 & 7 year olds. No one looks at them and can tell how they were born or if I had a ton of pain medicine during their birth. It’s just silly. I wouldn’t ever lie about it, but if I did no one could ever prove otherwise without hunting up my medical records or something. Doesn’t that prove a point there? I agree that doctors shouldn’t bully women in to those for their convenience and the recovery time is a bit longer but there’s nothing “superior” about having natural child birth. It’s just a personal preference.

  12. I like garlic, and Broccoli, but I don’t think I would like it in soup, can I still come around here?When I had Jennie, I said I want to go natural, because like you said, everyone acted like you were a child abuser if you didn’t. By the time I was screaming for drugs and epidurals, they said it was too late. It hurt like hell, and she was 8 lbs. 12 oz, I still can’t figure out how she got out. I was delerious ( sp) by that point. Her head was big and weird shapped. Not only that, the doctor only came in the last hour anyway, I would have perfered a C section and maybe he would have been there for some quality patient doc, bonding time.

  13. My older brother was born with cerebral palsy because he should’ve been born via c-section and wasn’t, thanks to a doctor’s poor judgement… but, thanks to modern medicine, she survived the horrific experience. Meanwhile, my boyfriend is entirely convinced that all births should take place at home with a midwife… which scares me because if we ever decide to have kids, I’m not so sure I want to be that far away from a hospital.

  14. Having done both I would never elect a c/section. Sure the labor didn’t hurt as much, but recovery for me was AWFUL. It took me WEEKS before I could carry my 1st with out pain. It wasn’t optional it was mandatory he wasn’t coming out otherwise, it still sucked though.

  15. …having experienced both C- section and natural childbirth, i can vouch for the latter…particularly when i’m five thousand miles away, the news of early delivery comes to me in a phone call, after the fact, and it’s a healthy boy ; ) 

  16. Hmmm.  I really think that we ought to take advantage of all the tools we have and that everyone should decide for themselves, and as for Dr.’s bullying patients, I’ve met very few Dr.’s who’s agenda is anything other than thier patients best interest.  If that’s not true for your doc, why would you ever go back to her/him.

  17. Hmmm…broccoli and c-sections. Interesting juxtaposition.Anyway, here’s my two centimes – (about c-sections only, since I don’t like or eat broccoli and therefore cannot comment on its relative merits.)The way that I see it, a healthy baby and a healthy mom are the whole point of getting through childbirth. Who cares how, from my POV. My kids were born c-sec (also a medical necessity) and although some folks felt that I didn’t truly experience childbirth – I ended up with two beautiful kids and we all survived some dicey moments – so all in all, I have no complaints. Whatever works best is what IS best. But hey – what do I know? I’m a mom who eschews broccoli, so take my opinion with the proverbial grain of NaCl.

  18. “Use an immersion blender to whir the soup to the consistency you like” — If I had one of these immersion thingies, which I doubt, how do I know what consistency I like?  And, how can I be sure I am whirring, and not whipping or whizzing. (Well, I could tell if I was whizzing, probably, although after two natural childbirths, it is sometimes difficult.)
    Oh, hello, by the way. Good to see you again, etc., etc.

  19. Okay, for the record, I love garlic.  Now that we’ve cleared THAT up…
    My lovely wife had both of our children c-section.  First one wasn’t planned, second one was.  I’m a medical-type so so we both put our trust in modern medicine as what separates us from the rest of the primates.  It’s silly not to take advantage of medical advances that are available.  Little things like pain killers (which, I’m sure, women have been begging for since the dawn of time) really make a huge difference, and if a safe and effective surgical method is available, why not?  In 18 years as the kids are going off to college, will it really matter?
    I guess some people feel the need to martyr themselves.

  20. OK no C-section *would they PLEASE come up with a better name for it than something that recalls an incestuous relationship and the carving open of the victim…anywho* and no squatting.However……I am big on “natural”: supplements, organics, etc. BUT…I did ask for drugs. Painkillers. An epidural.And would do so again. My daughter is fine and has been fine. Somehow the idea of squatting doesn’t appeal to me at all. Unless I was panning for gold and it was a certainty.

Leave a Reply

