ELEVEN

Twelve years ago, I was a 28-year-old school teacher with a
class of children with severe/profound disabilities.

Twelve years ago I lived by myself in a teeny tiny little
apartment in Seattle’s
University District.  It was all I could
afford on teacher pay.

Twelve years ago Technogeek had long hair that he sometimes
wore in a ponytail.

Twelve years ago Technogeek shared a run-down rental house
with two cats and six newborn kittens.

Eleven years ago today I was on spring break.

Eleven years ago today, Technogeek and I were on a trip to New Orleans, long before
Katrina silenced the jazz.

Eleven years ago today, Technogeek and I were married by Judge
Julian Baudier on the Riverboat Natchez, on the mighty Mississippi.

Eleven years later, the music is coming back to New Orleans.

Long live Dixieland.

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “

  1. Happy Anniversary!  I hope New Orleans makes it all the way back!  I was there once in 1988, and I really enjoyed myself.  I ate at a place called The Pearl that had really good red beans and rice and jambalaya.  I bought some coffee at Cafe du Monde for home, but it wasn’t as good as how they made it.  I was missing something.  The beignets (sp) were wonderful from that place, too!
    Kathi

  2. Well, Happy Anniversary and good on ya! You’re getting  into rarified atmosphere with a marriage in double digits. Press on. Marriage means you always have a date  for Friday night.

  3. That is a kick wedding!Cut my long hair in order to be “more employable” Don’t think it worked…I think ol’ Hershfeld got Big Pussy real good too. Not bad art work for a 100 year old guy.

  4. Hi! I saw your link on anothermadhousewife’s site and thought I’d drop by. Happy Anniversary! My husband was born and raised in N’awlins and I’m from Georgia (we’ve been up north for 2 years now). The south is near and dear to our hearts. How cool to be married on the Mississippi!

Leave a Reply

