SICK KIDS AND XANGA CONTESTS

I had a child home sick yesterday, and since this is not a
gaze-in-total-absorption-at-the-TV-all-day kind of kid, even when ill, I didn’t
get much work done.

(TR opens laptop computer)

“MOOOOMMMY, I need (help, juice, attention, love, a hug, one
of your kidneys, etc.)”

(TR dispenses required item)

(TR opens a file on said computer)

“MOOOOOMMMMY, can you play Rat A Tat Cat with me?”

(TR explains that she really must do some work first)

(TR reads document, trying to remember who she’s asking for
money this time)

“MOMMMMMYYYY, I want to sit on your lap.”

(TR explains that little girls with temperatures of 103
should be napping)

(Little Bit climbs onto TR’s lap)

(TR gives up the pretense of working and spends the rest of
the day alternately playing Rat A Tat Cat and surfing Xanga)

It seems I was nominated (thanks momofjenmatt) for “best content” at The Theologian’s Café.  This
resulted in an unprecedented number of people born in the 80s visiting here,
none of whom voted for me.  They all
voted for Drakonskyr.

Now I have a theory. 
The Theologian’s Café, as every Xangan is undoubtedly aware, is operated
by a shadowy figure calling himself Dan. 
Drakonskyr, I believe, is a young Ithacan named Daniel.

Coincidence?  I think
not.  They are one and the same. 

Coming soon: Drakonskyr’s Café.

 I
can’t decide if I would rather kill every living soul in Ithaca and THEN burn down their houses, or
make them watch their homes go up in flames before I chop them into cat food.  Which would you do first?

Featured content, guaranteed.

 ____________________________________________________________

Saturday morning update:  Don’t worry
about Little Bit, she’s feeling much better.  We are headed to the
beach for the weekend.  See y’all Sunday night.

 

33 thoughts on “

  1. OMG I ave so been there with mine. She’s 5, which pretty much says it all. Although 5 is, so far, better than 2 or 3….but still exhausting some days.
    Thanks for stopping by! Yes, I’m getting my body torn up about every 10 days in an alias of a deep tissue massage. But it’s been the only thing to help—last winter I was almost crippled with pain, like I had been hit by a truck or something, ugh. My DT Massage Therapist is a walking miracle as far as I’m concerned; I gave up on massage when some of them would give me a migraine! This one really knows her stuff, beats the hoo-has out of me, then I start to get a bit better, stronger, more mobile, and completely pill-free for 3+  weeks now, which I’ll pay anything to be.
    I hope your little one feels better soon!

  2. Sounds just like a certain daughter of mine…
    As far as bloodletting goes: A Viking chieftan leads his raiders over a hill, and looks down on a sleeping village below. “All right, men!” he cries. “We’re going to kill all the men down there and have our way with the women!”
    “Hurrah!” the horde cheers.
    “Oh, and one more thing, men… ” sighs the chieftan. “GET IT RIGHT THIS TIME!”

  3. Just because Little Bit beats you at Rat A Tat Cat you get cranky.   She beat me at chess and you didn’t see me complaining.   Congratulations on your nomination but stop being so paranoid just because everyone is after you.  I vote for the cat food before the burning to destroy the evidence.

  4. Aaaahahahahaha!
    That was funny.
    If you’d like to participate in my little contest, I would appreciate that too. Sick kid and all. Being the writer that you are, and cranky at that, I’m sure you could come up with some wicked good ideas. . .

  5. Man, I have never figured out the Theologian’s Cafe. He has like 70,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 readers or something, judging from the comments– but everytime I read it, it looks like this:”I was walking down the grocery store aisle and saw some canned peaches. So, Cling Peaches in Heavy Syrup, or Light?” Not that my Xanga is a bastion of profundidty or anything, but I wonder how this guy got his audience in the first place. He probably isn’t a cranky recluse like me, for starters…

  6. You’ll be glad to know that Little Bit is getting some new card games for her birthday. 
    Is the “Ithaca” you are talking about the one in Upstate New York?   The place you spent so many happy years ignoring your parents…I mean attending college?

  7. I always remember the amazingly-well kid thing.  Get the call at work, pick them up at daycare, fill them with drugs or juice or whatever.  10 minutes later – “I want to play a game”.  I don’t know about you but anytime I’ve had 103 temperature I just wanted to be left the heck alone to sleep.  Kids are weird.  Glad she’s better now.  Happy beach time.  🙂

  8. Cat food all the way, ma’am.I go by Mr. .DMV most of the time, although Daniel M. Vaccerelli is the technical handle.You’re from Ithaca? You…you got out?What’s it like on the outside?

  9. I voted for DMV, guiltily but unashamedly.  It’s hell being a nice guy, and not wanting to vote against your other friends, but what choice did I have?  My house is still standing, thank you.  (Glad Little Bit is doing better.)

  10. HARUMPH!!  I had no idea there was a contest going on……….. hence the lack of at least ONE vote on this end… I am not up to speed on who is who in xangaland or elsewhere I guess, and I long ago gave up on the Featured Content links xanga posts….  in fact I left xanga a few times because of the abundance of hmmmm… how shall I say it to avoid getting hatecomments??  well featured content links I would prefer not to be associated with when people I know in the real world come visiting the online world of blogs for the first time.
    I tried the more “upscale” or sophisticated ambience blogs of typepad and other stuff but bottom line (or should I say “at the end of the day”, the currently IN phrase) is……… I love xanga for the ease of posting and arranging and commenting and the community of various folks I have met here and care about.
    so here I am.  I have trails behind me at typepad, blogger, lycos and some I cannot recall at the moment.
    pooh on all those contests anyway… no one I ever vote for President ever wins either!!

  11. Now I have a theory.  The Theologian’s Café, as every Xangan is undoubtedly aware, is operated by a shadowy figure calling himself Dan.  Drakonskyr, I believe, is a young Ithacan named Daniel.
    Coincidence?  I think not.  They are one and the same. 
    Say it’s not so…OMG!
    I feel betrayed….I don’t comment on the Theologian’s THAT much…only once and awhile….but I love to harrass….(if you can even harrass) DMV…..say it’s not so.

  12. I have never been to that site but have enjoyed Drakonskyr many times…LOL  I love his caustic wit and high vocabulary.
    Am glad the munchkin is feeling better.  Never fun when they are sick.
    HUGS!!!

  13. I think it proves that if your name is a variation of Daniel, you have the power to take over xanga.  I’m hereby going to change my name to “Daniella” in order to obtain 1,000 more subscribers.
    Good luck on the Theo’s contest.

  14. “Next term with yet another Republican, YES!!! Why, you ask? cause the Democrats ain’t got #$%@.”That made me laugh. But anyways. I won’t be the king of xanga.I’ll be a heretical, despotic mad tyrant. I have no idea what you’d take out of it.

  15. But that Drakonskyr’s is so angry, does Dan have multiple personalities? If so i am scared, very scared. Have fun at the beach, thanks for the vote, I voted for you too, although we know who’s going to win, and it ain’t me Coming soon: Drakonskyr’s Café. I can’t decide if I would rather kill every living soul in Ithaca and THEN burn down their houses, or make them watch their homes go up in flames before I chop them into cat food. Which would you do first?Now THAT is funny.

Leave a Reply

