IS YOUR BABY GAY?

 

It’s a great day publicity-wise when you can piss off the Left and the Right in one breath.

 

Consider the Rev. R. Albert Mohler Jr., president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  R. wrote an article on his blog in which he acknowledged the preponderance of evidence suggesting that homosexuality has a biological cause.

 

(Side note: It never ceases to amaze me that people still insist that homosexuals simply choose to adopt that orientation in order to thumb their noses at convention.  Not a single homosexual individual I’ve ever met has said, “Well, you know, straight is so boring.  It’s cooler to be ‘different,’ don’t you think?”  Nose-thumbers might choose to consume copious amounts of alcohol and sing Barry Manilow tunes along with the karaoke machine.  They might choose to paint their ceilings canary yellow instead of the more common off-white.  Serious nose-thumbers might spend years following the Grateful Dead or Phish or whatever it is now around in dilapidated VW vans.  But they don’t turn gay.)

 

So the Christian Right is mad at R. Albert for admitting that.  But then he went on to say that he would support the development and use of medical treatment on fetuses in order to prevent them from turning out homosexual.

 

This reminds me of a debate in the deaf community.  Many deaf people do not believe in cochlear implants or any other intervention designed to maximize a child’s residual hearing.  In their view, being deaf is just fine.  They have a close-knit community with their own language, culture, and traditions.  They don’t want to view themselves as broken.

 

It is very difficult for a hearing person not to see deafness as a disability, because in fact it is.  But I am sympathetic to the “different not disabled” argument.

 

Similarly, the gay community does not want to be viewed as defective, and in fact they are not.  While the inability to hear is a definite impediment, homosexuality is an impediment in the way that dark skin is: only by virtue of other people’s reactions.

 

So the Left is not very happy with R. Albert’s suggestion that gay babies should be fixed, even if it involves significant expense, invasive and potentially risky medical procedures done to pregnant women, and a “broken” label on the people that still manage to be born gay.

 

R. Albert says, “I wrote the article intending to start a conversation.”  Mission accomplished.  

 

 

28 thoughts on “

  1. Interesting that some folks swear people make a conscious choice to be homosexual, but when you ask them about the choice they made to be hetero, they look at you like you’re nuts.  If we can choose our sexual orientation, doesn’t that mean we all made a choice?  I don’t remember choosing to be a straight woman; I’ve simply always known it.  And if that’s true for me, I think it must be true for my gay friends too.

  2. Sigh.
    The good news is that we’ve come a huge long way since when I was a kid.  Toward better understanding and toward respecting the worth and dignity of all human beings.
    The bad news is that we’ve still got a huge long way to go.

  3. Although your deaf/gay analogy is interesting, I’ll honestly never really understand the dislike for hearing devices by some in the deaf community.  At least among the homosexual community, all the parts work… they’re just activated by different stimuli than most. 
    But to refuse a hearing aid strikes me as similar to an amputee refusing a prosthetic leg because he and all of his amputee friends hop around just fine.

  4. I don’t think people choose to be homosexual, and I don’t think medical treatments for possibly gay fetuses sounds like a very good idea.  Kinda creepy and scary.  I don’t believe I’ve ever described a gay person as “defective,” but I don’t think sexual orientation is analogous to race.  (I don’t think gender is analogous to race, either, but somehow I manage to favor women’s rights.)  I don’t think it’s that simple.  I believe there is a genetic/biological component, and that such a component is by far the strongest contributing factor to one’s sexual orientation, but I’m not prepared to say that choice is completely absent in every case and in every aspect of every case–if only because some people really are bisexual.  I wouldn’t want my rights to hinge on the premise that I don’t choose my sexual orientation–especially when a large segment of society either rejects that premise or believes that if people are born that way, they ought to be fixed.  Why is it anyone’s business if I did choose it?  Why should a person buy into the idea that the element of choice is a disqualifying factor?  In the event that someone discovered a “cure” for homosexuality, the basis for homosexual rights would be eroded at the least.
    Also, the last time I checked, homosexuality was an impediment to at least one thing–but since some straight people have the same problem, perhaps it doesn’t count.

  5. Yep, that is quite a feat. 
    How can anyone choose their sexuality.  As I recall, my sexuality decided one day announced itself loud and clear, and there could be no turning off of the desires. 

  6. I’m not entirely sure what to say about this post.  I know that while I didn’t choose my own orientation, there is a battle about how sexual orientation is formed.  Is there a genetic link?  Well on my Mom’s side of the family I have two Cousins, a pair of brothers that are gay, and me and my younger brother are gay.  You do the math.
    As for the rest of it, I don’t think the debate will die in my lifetime, but why does everyone care so much?  Why are christians so threatened by it?  I don’t buy the ‘it’s against the laws of god’ argument.  I mean according to the bible so are not honoring your father and mother, and I don’t see anyone holding rallies to defend that law of god.  Some peopole do, some peaople don’t.  Do we really need others to hold a rally and deny marriage rights to all those who don’t honor thier mothers and fathers?  So… choice or not choice, I still don’t see why others should care who I sleep with at night as long as we’re both adults, and no one gets hurt (well not too hurt…).

  7. I always viewed homosexuality of natures way of keeping population control. It’s found in species other than human so the arguement that it’s unnatural has never sat well with me. If viewed as a natural view of population control then it’s all part of God’s plan. I think there is this disconnect with much of Christianity. You have the God made me perfect people, who then point at homosexuals and say but not YOU! YOU are gay and thereby defective. It’s either all one or all the other. Everyone is made as they should be or no one is. The idea of screwing with feti is… squickyRYC: I think the pulse is like blogging with ADD you only have like 100 characters to complete your thought.

  8. i like what gungaboy has to say about this topic. i don’t really care who you sleep with as much as i care what kind of person you are. that’s a much bigger deal to me, and as a committed christian, it bugs me that we have ppl walking around talking trash and not caring about the other person. talk w/your actions i say, not your mouth! too bad most of them don’t listen to me! now that’s a conversation i’d like to have with them! now… you got me all wound up! 😦  besides, i tend to think of the whole topic as God’s problem not mine.

  9. Fascinating article, and your post is equally fascinating. You gave me a great deal to think about with your deaf culture analogy, because I have had many deaf friends and they have been throughout the spectrum in regards to interaction with hearing people/community/culture: I have known deaf people you could barely tell were deaf (they read lips well, had light “deaf accents”), and people who are practically militantly deaf- rejecting not only hearing aids and cochlear implants, but even going so far as to become angry if live music events had interpreters available, since music is a product of the “hearing people’s culture”, etc. Wow. Much to think about. Great post. Lisa

  10. As I’m in my nine month of pregnancy… Just how is anyone to know if my baby is gay?  Whether she is or isn’t is fine with me, but I’m curious to know just what kind of test I’d have to go through to find out, if indeed I wanted to find out.

  11. I’m not honestly sure where the term “colonization” came from. I know it really ticked off the ethnomusicologists when I used it – apparently colonies are a touchy subject amongst anthopologist-types! I guess the idea is that the “mother organization” starts a colony in an area where it didn’t exist previously, and – like a U.S. colony – if it flourishes it eventually becomes a chapter. We’re divided into chapters (local – like states), districts (regional – like countries), and national (which is basically the whole world) if you follow that analogy. It’s not anything KKPsi made up, though – it’s just a Greek term, from what I understand.
    And it’s a fraternity. I’m not only a Brother of Kappa Kappa Psi, but I’m a Founding Father. 🙂 We actually have a sister sorority called Tau Beta Sigma, which is also coed. Crazy, huh?
    The subject of your post makes my skin crawl.

  12. I saw the headline. Then I lined the kitty box with the article. Gawd. I think we should “treat” fetuses to keep them from turning out to be so goddammed shallow.

  13. I’m amazed that we have a war going and people starving in our own country and these nattering nabobs are dithering over stuff like this. 

  14. And seriously…Who has so much free time to be thinking about utter nonsense with such depth?Just be good to others…gay straight black purple deaf blind stupid republican democrat And maybe they’ll be good back.If they’re not good back…gay straight black purple deaf blind stupid republican democrat, then don’t hang around with them!A jerk is a jerk, no matter what the “orientation.”

  15. ryc: i’m only there for the contest. i guess i shouldn’t say that, but it’s true! I’ve not been looking for another online writing place bc i have several (besides xanga) that focus just on writing w/other writers already that i’m involved in and i’m trying to decrease my online time as it is. so .. i guess i can’t really say. sorry!

  16. Oh, and while I completely agree with you that to be gay is not to be defective, I feel I should point out that a homosexual cannot reproduce (without doing violence to their homosexuality or seeking a medical procedure), and in that way does have as much of a “disability” as a deaf person.

  17. As a graduate of a Southern Baptist Seminary, let me simply say that myself and other graduates (like myself who have “left the fold”)are putting together a betting pool on how long Dr. Mohler will remain president at Southern.

Leave a Reply

