BYE BYE BARNEY

Like everyone who has ever tried to cook dinner with a two-year-old in the house, I have a substantial collection of kiddie videos.  Blue’s Clues, Dora, Caillou, Kipper, Little Bear, Bear in the Big Blue House, Franklin, Clifford, and the big purple king of kid TV, Barney.  (We don’t have any Teletubbies.  I never allowed that.  *Shudder*.)

But my youngest is now six and a half and hasn’t watched those tapes in years.  I pulled them all off the shelf and made a big pile in the middle of the living room.  I gave Little Bit a chance to look them over and see if she wanted to keep any of them.  She still likes The Wiggles, it seems.  I held my breath when she examined a Barney tape.  “Not that one,” I muttered, “don’t keep that one!”  I exhaled with relief when she tossed Barney on the give-away pile. 

When I asked Tigger, currently age 9 and 364/365, if she wanted any of the tapes, she rolled her eyes and waved at the pile dismissively. 

So they are all boxed up and awaiting a chance to be picked up by the next worthwhile charity asking for donations of such things.  It was nice knowing ya, Barney.

 

15 thoughts on “

  1. That Barney made the “to go’ pile is a good thing!  Barney was just coming in when my youngest was in his second year of preschool.  Thankfully, we didn’t see much of him around here.  A Barney bank given to him by a relative, was all we had.  Yes, they grow up quickly!
    Kathi

  2. You know that you are a compulsive saver when you don’t babysit and your kids are over seven, yet you are keeping all the “toddler” stuff.Then again unless there is no chance of another infant, there are often the hoping type parent….I came here to say your comment to John is right on. I hate those busy background blogs or small type or hard to view coments unless highlighted blogs.

  3. Oh, I remember that day. We had to keep Barney’s Christmas for quite some time though… And we still have these wonderful Peter Rabbit movies. We pull them out whenever we have young guests. I also kept a box of blocks and a few other things. now that my girls are babysitting it seems they get used more, as we have families with young children over for dinner.

  4. I missed the entire group. Don’t think we even had vhs when our kids were young. I do remember Mr. Rogers Neighborhood and Capt. Kangaroo and the Mickey Mouse club on TV.

  5. Smart of you to involve the kids like that. When my kids were teens, I purged our video shelf without asking… they’re all in their 20s now and still resent me giving away the Lion King and the Little Mermaid.

Leave a Reply

