CHANUKAH 2007

 

 

This is Chanukah, night #2.  The latkes are settling in my stomach…heavily.  Little Bit used hers to make an applesauce sandwich. 

Each night the girls take turns lighting the candles on the menorah.  I recite the blessing I memorized in Sunday school lo those many years ago, and they imitate the unfamiliar Hebrew words.

 

Tigger: Mom, what does that mean?

 

TR: It means ‘Blessed art thou oh Lord our God, King of the Universe, blah blah blah, Happy Chanukah.’

 

Tigger: (looks at me skeptically)

 

TR: Well I know it starts that way.  They all start that way.

 

Yeah, I’m a lousy Jew.  Fine.  I’ll look it up.

 

From www.jewfaq.org

 

Barukh atah Adonai, Eloheinu, melekh ha’olam
Blessed are you, Lord, our God, sovereign of the universe

 

 

asher kidishanu b’mitz’votav v’tzivanu
Who has sanctified us with His commandments and commanded us

 

 

l’had’lik neir shel Chanukah. (Amein)
to light the lights of Chanukkah. (Amen)

 

Now we all know.


BTW, how come Christians don’t celebrate Chanukah?  It’s an Old Testament thing, no?  What, Jesus came along and you forgot all about Judah and the Macabees?

 

23 thoughts on “CHANUKAH 2007

  1. Happy Hanukkah!  (Chanukah).  Not being Jewish, I am never sure which to use.  I have always wanted to attend a Hanukkah celebration.  My sons were guests at many and at many Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, and when my older son’s best friend was preparing for his Bar Mitzvah, he used to rehearse in front of my son, so he could get used to saying it to an audience.  My son, who had no clue WHAT he was saying, nonetheless memorized some of it, after hearing it so often.  The words you have below, I remember him saying, only I would have phonetically spelled it as “Barook ha ta din oy”.  My son’s friend’s mother about rolled on the floor when she heard my son “chanting” in Hebrew!    Reading your post brought back that memory! 
    Happy Hanukkah to you and your family!  I love latkes, dreidels and menorahs!  I think I should have been Jewish.
    Kathi

  2. I’ve taken to “blah blah”ing any of my lectures and yelling.I’ll start it off the normal way, then continue with “blah blah”me: “Time for bed! blah! blah! blah!”me: “Clean your room! blah! blah! blah!”me: “Bus your blah blah blah.” (dishes)It’s easier.Happy Chanukah!

  3. Christians don’t celebrate Channackah. (How many spellings are there anyway?) Mostly because the Old testament contains what they call the old covenant.  When Christ came the old covenant was superceeded by the New Covenant that god made witht he son of man.  OK if that doesn’t make sense to you, you’re doing just fine.

  4. One of Elie Wiesel’s books, I think it’s Gates of the Forest, begins with an allegory about how each succeeding generation remembers fewer of the prayers, fewer of the rituals, but how that’s okay with God.  God understands.  
    Happy Chanukah.

  5. as a christian, i love hanukkah. i think you learn so much about God when you look at his way of dealing with things in the past. it’s always been a part of what i teach and a part of what i celebrate. i think many christians just don’t want to take the time to celebrate something else. it’s not part of their family heritage (vrs their spiritual heritage) — but it’s their loss- they only know part of God in their journey. Happy Hanukkah!

  6. Happy Hanukkah! Actually, I have celebrated it in the past (as a Christian), but I am woefully behind this year. It was a lot easier when we lived by my friends Marilou and Robert, since they do the whole thing (the prayers in Hebrew- and ASL!- the latkes, playing dreidl, etc ) and used to just invite us over to join in. Maybe I’m holiday-lazy, though, because I am behind on Christmas spirit, too.

  7. My parents speak Slovak, but only taught my oldest two sisters how to speak it.  They left the last six of us to wonder what they were saying (mostly swearing, I’m guessing..)  However, I have picked up a few phrases here and there, though I don’t know exactly what they mean.  I’ll be teaching those to SP as she grows, and I’m sure I’ll have to look them up for her, too.
    Happy Chanukah!

  8. BTW, how come Christians don’t celebrate Chanukah?  It’s an Old
    Testament thing, no?  What, Jesus came along and you forgot all about
    Judah and the Macabees?

    Yep pretty much.  Although I did think it was cool that the 1st
    night of Chanukah the local Fox affiliate had a menorah on the TV with
    some guy speaking hebrew… I assumed it was the Chanukah blessing as I
    don’t speak Hebrew, but cool none the less!

  9. BTW, how come Christians don’t celebrate Chanukah?  It’s an Old Testament thing, no?  What, Jesus came along and you forgot all about Judah and the Macabees?
    Actually there are a large number of Christ followers who continue to celebrate all of The Feasts as describe in The Torah.  Some of us even follow the Hebrew calender rather than the Gregorian calender.
    each succeeding generation remembers fewer of the prayers, fewer of the rituals, but how that’s okay with God.  God understands.      No He doesn’t & it’s not okay. IMHO
     

  10. Macabees no longer sits in the Old Testament proper, at least in Protestant traditions.  My mom was a big Chanukah fan and our Church youth group had a regular Passover feast every couple of years, but one the Gospel went to the Gentiles in first century A.D. most Christians gave up on the Jewish traditions.  No offense, but trying to convince a Greek convert to get himself circumcised was too much even for the early apostles.
    Speaking of forgotten Jewish traditions, what ever happened to animal sacrifice?  I think that sort of thing would really pack the pews.

  11. At first glance, “jewfaq” looks like an offensive slur.  (As opposed to the inoffensive ones, I’m sure.)
    The reason I don’t celebrate Chanukah is that I have enough difficulty celebrating Christmas.  Oh, and I’m not Jewish.
    I’d give you a Happy Chanukah mini, but I’m saving my credits for the hi-tech animated Passover mini next spring. 
    Note to SD:  Actually, animal sacrifice figures prominently in my ladies’ auxiliary meetings.  We just clean up really good afterwards. 

  12. I confess ignorance regarding this particlular Judah, and all Macabees. Today on the radio i learned that there are maybe 500 people of Jewish faith in the ENTIRE STATE of South Dakota! May your remembrance celebration be a special one.

Leave a Reply

