RAUCOUS CAUCUS

Good god, what kind of sadistic weirdo thought up the caucus system?

 

Tigger and I set out from our house ready to do some democracy.  We had to walk past the GOP caucus being held at the church on the corner.  We didn’t make rude gestures or anything, I swear.

 

When we arrived at the school that hosted the Democratic caucus, we walked into a chaotic mob scene.  We eventually located the room assigned for our precinct and said hello to several neighbors.  It turned out we were supposed to be in the gym but we got aced out by a previously scheduled sporting event.  So one poor schmuck was responsible for shepherding half a dozen precincts through the caucus process, and instead of all being in the gym, they were all in separate classrooms.  He ran around delivering the same speech over and over.

 

A lot of tedious explanation about how caucuses are done followed, interspersed by long periods of waiting.  A tally of the sign in sheet was done, and the majority (by a lot) of attendees had written down Obama.  Then we were given leave to talk to each other and try to sway our neighbors to change their initial vote. 

 

I didn’t figure I was going to sway anybody, and Tigger was bored to tears, so we left. 

 

WHY do they do it that way?  The caucus is very exclusionary… you have to show up at one time.  If you have to work that day, you have no voice.  If you have kids who won’t tolerate being dragged through a hideous crowd where a bunch of grown-ups are making self-important noises, you have no voice.  Why can’t we just go to the polls—open all day long—and freaking vote?

 

Oddly, Washington does have a primary.  It will be on Feb. 19.  But it doesn’t count.  The delegates are awarded by the caucus results.  So why are we having a primary in ten days?  Nobody knows.

 

And yes, Hare Oprabama Krishna won the day.  But even if my candidate had prevailed, I would have to give the caucus a thumbs down.

20 thoughts on “RAUCOUS CAUCUS

  1. Ditto.  I would so much rather just go cast my vote.  I don’t want to try to convince anyone to vote my way and don’t want them trying to change my mind.  Let me just pull that lever and get the hell out of Dodge.

  2. We have it too and it’s chaotic but interesting.  Rumor has it that it’s done this way because it is a party meeting and discussion not a vote.  We also try to begin our party platform at the caucus.  Oprahbama krishna does tend to do better at a caucus.  We had caucus training and had to fake caucus and I subtly imitated O and a friend did H and O even won at that one. I think Ms. Clinton’s campagin manager needs to go under a bus. 

  3. I what you call him, even if I’m seriously leaning that way now.  (Heh, my son listened to his entire speech last night and was psyched.)  Kudos for trying.  I wouldn’t have even tried to go that far. 

  4. Thanks for the explanation, you did a better job than any of the reporters on TV. 
    Sadly, I did vote in the Michigan primary, but since we moved our primary up and violated the DNC rules, we lost our Democrat delegates.  So my vote doesn’t count anyway. 

  5. Well, now I’m embarrassed because I’ve voted a lot of times in Texas over my lifetime, including in primaries, but ABlogWalksIntoABar claims Texas has a similar caucus system and I can’t recall that at all.  Politics never really took with me as a pasttime…it’s always remained something of a civic duty, like recycling and trimming the branches that obscure the streetlight and getting the car inspected.  So I guess it’s possible that during my Texas voting days I went to something called a caucus and immediately forgot all about it.  Though I suspect I would remember someone trying to change my mind about my vote.  In fact, I imagine if that had ever happened to me it would have been the end of my voting days altogether, since I have myriad social problems (see, my blog).

  6. Yeah, that really is not what I would call representative government. I wonder how common it is to change it from a caucus to a primary in an individual state? I don’t know who makes those rules at all.  I have a lot to learn.  A lot that I am pretty much too lazy to learn.  Sadly sadly sadly.

  7. Muffins are great and easy and always take less than thirty minutes.  Also, you can (and should) toss whatever you like into them, like nuts and fruit and flaxseed meal, if you have it.  Basic rice muffins:  (I’ve done them with white, brown, or a combination of white and brown rice flour — brown rice flour is whole grain, of course)  2 T butter or canola oil; 2 eggs; 1/2 C milk (reg., soy or rice); 1/2 t vanilla extract; 1.5 C rice flour; 1/2 C sugar; 1/2 t sea salt; 2 t baking powder; 1/2 t cream of tartar.  Preheat oven to 350 (imp. with gluten-free because you want them to go straight into the oven as soon as they are mixed).  Grease tins or use cups.  Cream together the sugar and butter.  Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and add them to the sugar and butter.  In a third bowl mix together the flour, salt, baking powder and cream of tartar.  Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture gradually, alternating with the milk.  Mix just enough to combine…don’t over mix!  Add the vanilla.  If you are adding dry ingredients like fruit or nuts or chocolate chips, fold them in at this point, careful not to mix too much.  Pour into tins and bake for 20 minutes.

  8. I too am thwarted by the caucus system.  I had a once a year event for my softball league, so couldn’t attend.  It is supposed to be a discussion of issues and candidates, but only die hard supporters seem able to make it to these things, and no one changes thier mind.  It’s not like it once probably was where a good number of your neighbors came togehter and discussed things and then came to a consensous.  Now it’s political blow hards esposing thier own personal issues and making a lot of (as you called them) self important noises.

Leave a Reply

