Dear Weather Gods,

As you know, I’ve been praying for some warm, sunshiney days since, oh, last October.  So I was grateful, truly I was, to get one yesterday.  And I hate to complain, but, to put it bluntly, WTF?  Two nice days in a row would be too much to ask?  Is there some ritual I neglected to perform?  You wanted a sacrifice, perhaps? 

I fertilized and turned over three of my six garden beds yesterday.  I hoped to do more today, but that gray, gray sky and chilly wind is threatening a deluge the moment I step outside.  My kids are excited about gardening this year.  Can’t you make the sun shine, for the girls?

What Little Bit most wants to grow is potatoes.  That’s because she loves this twice-baked potato dish so very much.  She figures if she grows her own, she’ll get twice-baked potatoes more often.  If I post my recipe, will you make it sunny?  Let me know.

Your friend,
TR


LITTLE BIT’S TWICE-BAKED POTATOES

4 large baking potatoes
1 package (3 oz) cream cheese
1 tsp minced chives
3 Tbs butter
1/2 cup grated parmesan
2 Tbs sour cream
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
pepper to taste
paprika

  1. Scrub potatoes very well, especially if you like to eat the skin. Grease them lightly.
  2. Pierce with a fork two or three times, or five or six times if you like.
  3. Bake in a 400 degree oven for one hour.
  4. Split potatoes lengthwise and scoop flesh into mixing bowl.
  5. Set skins on baking tray.
  6. Mix potato flesh with cream cheese, chives, butter, parmesan, sour cream, salt and pepper.  I recommend using a stand mixer…when I did it with a handheld it sprayed potato goop everywhere.
  7. Add egg and beat well. 
  8. Fill potato shells with potato goop.
  9. Sprinkle paprika on top
  10. Put back in 400 degree oven for 5-10 minutes.  Okay, call it 8 minutes.
  11. Switch oven to broil and give it another few minutes, until the tops are slightly brown.
  12. Serve to ecstatic, starch-loving children.

15 thoughts on “Dear Weather Gods,

  1. I’ll post some pics for you later of the gorgeous sunshine we had yesterday.  Today?  Not so pretty & the cold is back.  Something about a dogwood winter??? Maybe the dogwood trees know someone likes taters more than them so perhaps you should praise their beauty?   I don’t know.  Slip Mr. Groundhog a $50 next year.  LOL 

  2. Well, I’m feeling the same way.  A couple of days ago it was over 70.  Today it’s snowing and REALLY cold.  If the weather gods let you know what to do, please tell me.  I can’t stand much more winter.  I’m at the end of my freezing cold rope!

  3. Dear T_R:
    In an effort to fight global warming, we’ve decided to cut down on nice sunshiney days by at least 30%.  We apologize for any inconvenience.
    Sincerely,
    The Weather Gods

  4. I’ve noticed, since moving to Oregon, that it almost always rains on Saturdays and holidays, and if there’s going to be sunshine, it’s usually on Sunday, when I’m in church.  (Which could mean any number of things–God is Jewish, a Seventh-day Adventist, a sadist. maybe–I’d think maybe there was no God, except that the weather patterns are too consistent to be coincidence.)  Yesterday was so lovely, I almost thought that I’d slept through Saturday and woken up on Sunday.  Today is nice, too, but not as nice as yesterday.  (So maybe there is no God, after all.  Who knows?)

  5. No doubt. Yesterday sheets of ice were crashing down from the sky. A little extreme for mid-April. That recipe makes me want to grow my own potatoes too. If the ground thaws by August I might give it a shot. 

  6. Your missing ritual?  Move to Atlanta and send your children to abominable schools where they’ll get pregnant and on drugs.  If you do this, you’ll have gorgeous days from mid march until late november.Or move to Hawaii or Southern Cali, where you’ll have sunshine year round.

  7. Youngest loves twice baked potatoes too. You can freeze these, btw. Then you can thaw and reheat or just microwave from frozen and potato lovers have an awesome snack or you have an awesome side for dinner.

Leave a Reply

