TR SAVES THE BOBCATS

 

One of the most aggravating things about children is that they lose stuff.  And since they are children and you are their parent, chances are you paid for the thing they lost.  And you will pay to replace it.  The whole matter can make you wish you lived in a tropical climate where the children run around naked.  Or at least wearing only garments made of grass.  There may be other reasons for wishing that too, I suppose.  Saves on laundry.

 

In the last year my 11-year-old has lost two jackets, both of which I bought for her.  She’s my sweet darling daughter, I wanted her to be warm and comfy, and stylish too.  She doesn’t seem to share my concern.  Her only response to losing stuff is an indifferent shrug.  I guess I’m too free with the jackets, because she never seemed to miss them.  She has others.

 

Last weekend Tig was headed to a pal’s birthday party at an ice skating rink.  “Take a sweater, honey,” I helpfully suggested, “you’ll be cold.”  So she grabbed her Ohio Bobcats sweatshirt, a gift from her uncle Bad_Dogma, and we went to the rink.

 

While the party kids were assembling, the dad of another friend offered to pick Tigger up after the party and bring her home.  How nice!  I accepted.

 

Unfortunately, said friend’s dad did not, as I would have, make sure that Tigger had everything she came with before leaving said ice skating rink.  He did not say, “Tigger, don’t forget your sweatshirt.” 

 

And that’s how I came to drive 20 minutes out of my way this afternoon to scrounge through the lost-and-found at the ice rink.  Unlike the jackets we never located, I found the Bobcats shirt. 

 

You’re welcome Tigger.  Next time keep track of your freaking stuff.

17 thoughts on “TR SAVES THE BOBCATS

  1. It appears that Tigger requires some sort of incentive program to make sure she brings stuff home.  As I recall, you have a poker chip reward system to get goodies.    An escalating deduction of chips might be in order as more things get “lost”.   

  2. I suppose we’ve all been throught stuff like this with kids.    It’s maddening.    You are really good to go after the lost item.    Consequences often drive the lesson home.    I know, it’s hard to let them learn that way.   I couldn’t do it either.    LOLRYC about tomatoes.   Honey, Spring has come to southeast Texas.    We’ve had temps in the high 80s, a/c running at times, and sun almost every day now for a while.     My problem will be keeping everything watered.   We are forecast rain this weekend.    How ’bout a ‘mater sammich?Ava

  3. Nice save!Truly experienced, effective parents always go through the “Get all your stuff” routine!    No cure do I know of, other than the pages turning on the calendar until it ceases to be your problem.

  4. In a nutshell, “capstone”  refers to the undergraduate research project that is required to graduate.  It’s intended to prepare us for graduate school and demonstrate the skills we’ve learned through a poster, oral presentation and 25 page paper.  My hubby still needs the “get all your stuff” routine… some people don’t grow out of it.  Hopefully Tigger will. 🙂

  5. I cannot begin to count all the miles I’ve driven out of my way to search for my kids’ lost stuff.  Just last week we had to go back to the elementary school because my kindergartner got all weepy over the fact that after school, while he was waiting in the bus line, a radish seedling in a plastic drinking straw fell out of his backpack pocket and got lost.  I’m sure I’m enabling him in his carelessness.  I’m sure I’ll pay for this in twenty years.  Oh well.

  6. Here’s a little bedtime  story for you.  Tigger sounds a lot like my daughter.  You won’t believe this, but once upon a time my daughter  came home from college without one single thing she took with her.  Nada!  She had a ratty pair of jeans and an even rattier sweatshirt, neither of which I had ever seen before.  She didn’t seen to remember the clothes she left with.  “What clothes?” she asked. I have often wondered what happened to everything.  What do YOU think happened?  Fortunately for me, she was a college graduate and I didn’t have to replace them.  Then she moved to Seattle, where her ratty jeans and even rattier sweatshirt were considered formal attire.  She lived happily ever after.   THE END.

  7. At one point in time I was picking up the “lost and found” at the local elementary schools (well really just the lost, because if it had been FOUND it wouldn’t have been there right?) and taking it to a local homeless shelter. The schools would lay stuff out and tell the kids (and parents, via email) that it would be laid out for x days. Each quarter I totally filled my garage with black garbage bags of lost stuff: shoes, sweaters, jackets, skates, lunch boxes, backpacks… I was appalled. The homeless shelter was always glad to get the stuff but still…. I’m a hard nose. I’ll give them a pass now and then, because really they rarely lose stuff. But now and then they lose something more than I consider normal and then they do without for a bit. And/or spend their money to replace it.  Now, I have them on a monthly clothing budget so I notice they are not buying everything they think they want. I was not brought up with such freedom. My parents said yes or no. I never argued that I remember. Perhaps they remember differently. I just know I didn’t really expect them to buy everything I wanted.

  8. ~ nods ~ I feel you… and if the stuff isn’t lost, it’s broken. Mine are variously between the ages of 1 and 10, and whatever I hand them is pretty much a write off. But losing stuff is new to them. My eldest just lost her wallet the other night. There were only $14 in it, but it was a new wallet, that – yes you guessed it – we paid for. But it still hurt her more than us.

  9. RYC:  I glanced at the article but couldn’t bring myself to read the whole thing.  It’s the opposite of our experience.  Both of our boys were conceived during the starving poverty of grad school. 

  10. I know!!! I cannot believe how much stuff kids lose!!! I work in a middle school, and it’s unbelievable. The hallways are always strewn with lost items. Every day after school, I have to go down the hallway and pick up all the stuff on the floor. I refill my classroom’s pen cups with lost pens and pencils and markers. I pick up $50 textbooks, jackets, designer purses, shoes, backpacks, pencil cases, graphing calculators, iPods, and cellphones and put them in the lost and found. And then, every month, the announcement goes out that all the unclaimed stuff will be donated, but no one claims most of it. I just don’t get it. If I’d lost things as a child, my parents would have killed me. I would have been paying them back out of my allowance every week for months, doing extra chores, and probably grounded to boot…

  11. Sudden idea:  Look into microchipping items you’re worried they might lose.  I have no idea of the cost, but your veterinarian or local Humane Society might have that knowledge.

  12. Warped thinking time–I lost my digital camera a couple of weeks ago and actually thought of calling it so I could trace its location by the ring.  Sooner or later we’re going to get all these things mixed up and start going up into puffs of smoke.

Leave a Reply

