KIDZ BLOGZ

Many of you have asked when my 11-year-old, who indeed has a
great deal to say, will start a blog of her own.  Some of you I suspect are motivated by
voyeuristic curiosity.  What will Tigger
say about TR?  Is she really what she
claims to be?  Will there be Mommy
Dearest-like revelations? 

Well you’ll just have to wait for “the rest of the
story.”  Tigger is not allowed to blog
yet.

It’s not that I fear the revelations.  Well, maybe I do, but not a lot.  I’m banning blogging for the time being for
two reasons:

  1. Generally
    speaking, social networking sites like this one here set a minimum age of
    13.  Tigger is only 11, and we
    wouldn’t want to break the rules, now would we?
  2. The
    internet is chock-full, crawling with, indeed infested by weird nasty creepy
    people.  Present company excepted,
    of course.  (Side note: MS Word does
    not want me to use “excepted” there. 
    It would prefer that I used “accepted.”  But that’s not what I mean to say, is
    it?  Stupid MS Word.)

I do not want my daughter having conversations via comments
or any other method with said weird nasty creepy people.  Even though, as she indignantly points out,
she knows not to give out any personal information and not to trust anything
anyone says online, she just doesn’t need to be there waiting to be contacted
by someone weird, nasty and creepy.  It’s
bad enough she watches youtube videos. 
God knows what depravity she’s encountering there.

So, sorry peeps, you’ll have to wait a couple more years to
hear Tigger’s version of events in the Rabbit house.  Though I may offer her a guest column
sometime.  If I do, and you happen to be
one of the weird nasty creepy ones, please don’t comment. 

I’ve been having trouble with endings lately.  I can’t find the ribbon and bow with which to
wrap up the post.  So envision your
monitor with a nice wide silk jobbie in the color of your choice and tied with
a real bow, not one of those fake ones with the sticky stuff on the back.  Thank you.

UPDATE ON MY SUPER COOL TWEEN
Warning: if you don’t have kids of your own you might find this story schmaltzy, but that’s just too damn bad.

While I’m on the subject of kids growing up and gaining more freedom, check this out.  Just yesterday Tig was granted the privilege of walking up to a local shopping strip (less than a mile away) all by herself.  To earn it she had to prove to me that she could get there and back without any assistance (I trailed behind her), which she did without a hitch. 

As I expected, she elected to exercise her right today.  “Mom, can I go up to Bartell’s and get a soda?  Yes I have money, and yes I know it counts as dessert,” she handily countered any objection I might raise.

“Ok,” I agreed.  “Go!”

I tried not to look out the window anxiously too often.

Forty-five minutes later she returned with a Dr. Pepper and a big grin.  Unbeknownst to me, she had something in her pocket too.  She disappeared for a few minutes, then found me in the kitchen and handed me an envelope.

She’d bought a thank you card along with her soda.  Inside she wrote:

Dear Mom,
    Thank you for giving me the freedom to walk places on my own.  Not only that, but you did it well–by keeping me safe by making sure I knew the way, but not being overprotective.

Thank You!

(heart), Tigger

Now if that don’t make your hearts go pitter-pat, you are made of stone, people.

28 thoughts on “KIDZ BLOGZ

  1. You mean you don’t “accept” us?  as we are??  ;)I agree with you – I do not want my preteen on social networking sites.  And we completely blocked YouTube from his computer – not because he did anything wrong, but because he kept stumbling onto unsavory videos and Net Nanny doesn’t block those kinds of user-created content sites.  He’s kind of mad at us about that, but generally doesn’t spend that much time on the computer anyway… which is just fine with me. 

  2. Hmmm.  I didn’t know Xanga had an age limit.  I’m sure she knows better than to give out personal information on ANY website, but you’re absolutely right to be concerned about the weird, nasty crazies that might answer her blog.  I guess you’ll have to wait a little while longer, Tigger.  Sorry.  A guest blog from time to time would be kind of fun…don’t you think?

  3. Those are the same reasons lil miss isn’t allowed to blog, either, and she’s only 9.  So she gets to ‘blog’ via email to her contact list, which is all family.  She’s happy with it, and so am I.

  4. I’ve been blogging for about 5 years now, and I just turned 19.  That means I started at 14.I was prolific online well before that, though, beginning around age 12.I would have been online (and blogging) earlier if I could have.I don’t see anything wrong with children blogging.  She seems to know the basics of internet safety, so I wouldn’t see the harm in letting her online.  I’m not saying that you should change your parenting style, I’m just saying that it sounds odd to me.

  5. It’s hard to let go, isn’t it?   Tigger has always displayed remarkable maturity for her age and the thank you card only reinforces that.   I can see those apron stings unraveling now.  She can handle anything that comes her way.  I’m proud of her.

  6. I would never criticize your parenting, not being a parent myself, and everything you’ve said in the past on this blog seems to indicate you are a committed, involved, and caring mother.  I have known other Xangans whose children have had blogs at as young an age as six.  If it were up to me and I had a child, I wouldn’t want them having a blog until they were in high school.   I think at that point most children are mature enough to speak their minds in a virtual space and to deal with the aftermath.  Any earlier, and I would have to insist on monitoring the blog — but that isn’t something I’d like to do to a child of that age.  I also feel it’s a little unsettling for children to spend the amount of energy online that we adults do as bloggers — when I think of the sheer number of hours that I once spent reading blogs, writing my own entries, and making comments on other people’s blogs, it’s a wonder I found the time to have an active social life in the real world, much less get anything useful accomplished.

  7. Well I think that’s quite cute.  Applause-o-meter hit a 7!  I think the blogging to a known circle has merit, but I agree with waiting a bit to blog. 

  8. I think parents would be wise to follow your example and have boundaries set for their kids. Although I have a bias in not having children it does seem to me most of our problems in society now are going back to that basic issue of boundaries for kids…

  9. Oh, wow!  Obviously you’re doing something right, to raise a kid who’ll surprise you that way!  I think it’s very telling that she is grateful for the privilege, instead of feeling entitled and resentful that she didn’t get it sooner.  I see that attitude in far too many kids (and adults!) in America today and it’s nice to know there are kids like Tigger out there!

  10. Without a hitch – ha ha ha!  Hitching rides would definitely be a Bad Way to get to where Tigger was going.That card is wonderful – definitely something to save and savor!  What a good mom you are!

  11. Tigger is such a great kid!I had a very similar heart-tugging (my kid is growing up) moment, when I dropped Bananna off at the pool by herself yesterday.  I really should blog about it.  First I have to finish plowing my way through, “Grey’s Anatomy” (season 2), which has been sucking away all of my free time, after the kids are in bed. . .I’m sure I’ll be confessing that guilty pleasure on my blog soon.  

  12. I don’t envy your job — even though it’s obvious you’re doing it superbly!   I am constantly (ad nauseum) cautioning the parents of my grands to monitor computer activities closely.   It’s all quite terrifying when it comes to precocious kids.  5 stars to you, TR!

  13. Sad but true.  My daughter’s best bud is a writer and that child has churned out a book at 11.  Tell little one that she’s lucky not to blog, she might finish a book before I do.  😉  (Since it’s the best procrastination tool on the planet)

  14. Congrats to you and Tigger for that milestone. I remember one day when Jordy was eleven she got a ways ahead of me and I couldn’t find her, but there was a woman walking not too far ahead of me. It was Jordy. I just hadn’t adjusted my mental picture of her from the ten year old in my mind to the woman she had become.

Leave a Reply

