CRITICAL SEASONAL DECISION MAKING

Just cooked a sizable sugar pumpkin, yielding about six cups of orange yumminess.  But what to do with it?  While it baked, I trotted out to get the mail.  There I found a marketing postcard from my favorite mortgage broker, and on the back of the card, a recipe for pumpkin cheesecake squares.  You can’t ignore serendipity like that.

However, the squares will only use up one cup of my pumpkin currency.  How shall I spend the rest?

  • Pumpkin bread
  • Pumpkin pie
  • Pumpkin muffins
  • Pumpkin cookies
  • Pumpkin butter
  • Pumpkin soup
  • Or?

Suggestions accompanied by recipes will receive top consideration. 


Additional remarks:  I especially like items containing both pumpkin and molasses.  Any recipe with both ingredients gets extra-top consideration.


Update:  I woke up this morning to find three hungry children gazing at me, hollow-eyed and desperate.  So I made pumpkin muffins for breakfast.  Unfortunately, that was before OBL suggested that I just substitute molasses for some of the sugar.  That never occurred to me, even though I’m not generally all that rule-bound around cooking.  Why, I didn’t even sift the flour.  (Take THAT, Joy of Cooking!) 

I did not, however, make the pumpkin cheesecake squares.  The grocery store…I can hardly even bring myself to say this… the grocery store did not have any chocolate wafer cookies.  Not one.  How am I to make a chocolate wafer crust for my pumpkin cheesecake squares without any chocolate wafer cookies?  How?

Tomorrow: Pumpkin-Apple Soup.

25 thoughts on “CRITICAL SEASONAL DECISION MAKING

  1. I made these.  I’ve never tried to link in a comment box before, so I hope that worked.  Anyway, I used gluten-free millet flour and brown rice flour and added 2 tsp of xanthan gum to make them gluten-free, and they were delicious, but a little spongy.  I think the sponginess came from a combination of the copious liquids (yogurt, applesauce, etc.) and a tad too much xanthan gum.  The walnuts were mmmmmmmmm in these muffins!!

  2.  Pumpkin bread:  Preheat oven to 350.Sift together 1 3/4c. sifted all purpose flour   1/4t. double acting baking powder    1t. salt    1/2t. cinnamon   1/4t. Ground ClovesIn a large bowl beat until fluffy:  1 1/3c. sugar   1/3c. soft shortening  2 eggsAdd 1c.pumpkin to mixture and beat in.Now add dry ingredients alternating with 1/3c. water or milk.Fold in:  1/2c. chopped nuts and 1/3 c. raisinsPour batter into greased 9×5 loaf pan and bake about one hour.

  3. I don’t have any recipes, either, but if each recipe uses only 1 c. of pumpkin, you can make 5 of the 6 things you mention.  You could always eeny-meeny-miney-mo them!  lolYour cheesecake squares sound best of all.  Anything cheesecake gets my attention!!

  4. You know, you can always just sub molasses for 1/2 the sugar.  Ta-da!  Pumpkin and molasses muffins.  Or pancakes!!  Pumpkin pancakes would be really easy with molasses.  You could even use buckwheat and do them gluten-free.  Extremely simple.  Yum!

  5. RYC: Thanks for your participation and insight. I think the best thing about this post has been how much I’ve learned from other perspectives, both from inside and outside the church. Am I the only one who’s interested in learning what Pumpkin Juice tastes like? Hmm… that’s the second comment in the past day that I’ve referenced Harry Potter. Either my psyche is telling me to re-read the series, or it’s rebelling against all the academic reading of late.

  6. I vote pumpkin bread – mmmm!  My favorite! Although muffins are pretty fabulous too, especially with walnuts – and OBL’s molasses idea is BRILLIANT.  Well, guess I’ll go eat a burrito and destroy the pumpkin theme… (-:  Hopefully I get some time to obsessively draw for you today instead of frivolously spending time on xanga!

Leave a Reply

