NANOWRI-UH-OH

It seems like November rolls around earlier every year.  I face my usual conundrum: I love the idea of nanowrimo, I believe in nanowrimo, but who has time for nanowrimo?  Fifty freaking thousand words. 

Then there’s the whole “talentless hack” problem.  If you’ve read any of my previous attempts to blog my nanowrimo novel (ok, short story, it’s not like I ever get near an actual 50K word count), you know that I’m a strong starter but I’ve got no game.  “Wow, TR,” the readers say, “this is so great. Can’t wait for the next installment.”  That goes on until about day 5, when the readers start saying “God, TR, isn’t November over yet?” 

So here’s my plan: screw the middle and the end.  Story arcs are overrated.  I’ma write a novel in 30 beginnings. 

This plan will remain in effect as long as I have your support.  If you’re not with me, you’re, eh, probably writing your own nano. 

Please respond with either

  • Drill, bab… oh, wait, I mean Write Baby Write!

or

  • Your time would be better spent elsewhere, TR, preferably farawaywhere.
14 thoughts on “NANOWRI-UH-OH

  1. i signed up too- not that i have the time, but i have this new story idea and no time to play with it… thus- nano! i say even if we don’t finish, we’ll still be that many words ahead! so dig deep! 🙂

  2. So, I just went over to the site, because I had NO idea what you were talking about. Sounds fun and awesome and totally intimidating at the same time. Eep. That being said, you are NOT a talentless hack, or I wouldn’t be here. Hmmph. Dissing my taste in subs! The nerve. Go for it! You never know, this may be the year you strike gold. And if you don’t, at least you’ll get the practise writing at an intense pace.

  3. I’m with you on the 30 beginnings. I always start strong and then quickly get lost and have no idea where I’m going, which causes me to, um, stop writing. Yay for the half-finished story!

  4. You are NOT a talentless hack.  You are a VERY talented hack…writer. You just happen to be the very busy mother of 17 chil….um,  2 children, and 1 very demanding bunny.  Just get started and in the words of the great Tim Gunn…”Make it work!”

  5. Hey there! I STILL remember when you wrote that Nano story about the Xanga people at a party. It was the most fun reading and evidence by the fact that I still remember it. I wouldn’t just be saying it to flatter you. I honestly don’t remember any excerpts I’ve read from Nano except that one.As for all beginnings, I think that doesn’t even “break” nano “rules” (not sure if you even care about those). But I read in the book “no plot, no problem,” that if you change your mind in the middle and want to start over, just keep what you have and start over, counting all the words. I figure, whatever works!I’m Luvs_bunnies if you want to connect on the site, if you haven’t already. I’m still figuring out who I am and am not connected to over there.

Leave a Reply

