CARD OF HOUSES

I’ve always thought that cards should be picked out to make the recipient feel special.  That’s what you do on birthdays and anniversaries, right?  But I’m not much of a sender of holiday cards, so I don’t know the rules.  Maybe you can help me out. (I’m just curious about card motivation, not complaining!)

If you maintain a lengthy list of recipients to whom you mail cards each December, do you:

  1. Send cards that reflect your feelings/beliefs to everyone you know
  2. Send cards chosen to reflect the feelings/beliefs of the recipients
  3. Send generic happy cards that surely everyone would like
  4. Forget the whole thing and go to Vegas

Have you ever received a card that offended you?

Have you ever been told that a card you sent was offensive?

Maybe I should make this a proper blog poll.  Last time I tried that it didn’t work.  Can somebody please point me to a poll-generator that’s compatible with Xanga?  Gracias!

20 thoughts on “CARD OF HOUSES

  1. If someone is nice enough to send you a card, who cares what religion it’s for?  Not everyone knows what you believe or don’t believe.  Just be glad they thought enough of you to bother sending the card at all.  I’ve never been offended by a card.  I hope no one has ever been offended by a card I sent to them.

  2. I send a generic “happy holidays” type card, usually with a snowman or something on it. So far none of my friends have told me they worship the Great Snowman and are offended, or that they wish I wouldn’t send them depressing images of someone who will do a wicked-witch-of-the-west number on the first warm day.If somebody is kind enough to wish me a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Winter Solstice or Eid al Adha, I focus on the fact that they wished me joy, and am grateful.  

  3. I have several boxes of cards and often chose one just for recipients. Sometimes I just send from one box of cards as well. Only family and maybe a couple old friends get a newsletter. Except my mom, she hates newsletters. Never have I received or sent offensive cards. I have received funny ones on occasion, usually our son.

  4. Over the years, what has evolved is a Peace-themed card for me.  Every year I specifically choose a card that conveys a message of peace.  All religions can appreciate that, no?  This year’s card was actually purchased two years ago after Christmas for a crazy-cheap price, and it’s a UNICEF card, to boot.  Of course, for my newspaper customers I am strictly a Happy Holidays card sender, so as not to offend, (and get that tip!)I’ve never received an offensive Christmas card, but some funny ones, yeah.

  5. I send cards reflective of the recepient’s beliefs (when I remember to send them).  So Hannukah for my Jewish friends. Happy Yule or beautiful nature ones for my Pagan friends. A variety of Christmas cards for the Christians, and Seasons Greetings for everyone else.

  6. We have a long card list, and always do those photo cards (Walgreens = cheap and easy). There are two reasons for this: 1) easy, no need for personal notes on every card and 2) I’ve always loved receiving them from others, and like them much better even than the ones with hastily scribbled notes. The only other option in my book is to send festive cards with thoughtful notes, but I simply don’t have the time or energy for this option. Maybe when the kids are grown and I’m retired. And that was a long answer, sorry.

  7. ^Oh, and I pretty much always send “Peace” ones, leaving the holiday out (since I see now that was your original question). But I’ve never been offended by a holiday card, and never have heard from a recipient that my card was offensive.And I should learn to read more carefully. Long week, long week. . .

  8. (3) – always a photo card of the kids with a generic holiday greeting for our friends of all different religions.  I really should switch to e-cards and save the trees, but I feel traditional about it this time of year.  I have totally stopped sending b’day cards that aren’t e-cards, though.  Not that you asked.  

  9. For Bdays and anniversaries I choose a card for the person. For mass holiday mailings, I usually choose a card that reflects me, so the recipient says, “Yep that’s Shawna,” and knows I’m not trying offend. But I didn’t send out cards this year. Guess that means I’m going to Vegas baby!

  10. Every year I mean to send out a family newsletter + pretty Christmas-y type card but every year it just doesn’t seem to happen. I write a blog, damnit. If they want to see what my children look like and what we are up to, USE THE INTERNET.  I love getting mail, but sheesh, that’s a lot of effort. (-:

  11. I’m not offended by any type of card.  It’s nice that they send me something.  I prefer my Grandmother’s card as it usually includes a crisp $10 bill or a check.  Does that make me too materialistic to really appreciate the season?

  12. I send cards that I like that reflect my aesthetic as far as artwork, etc.  I go for wintery themes, animals, snow, or just unusual or old-fashioned designs.  Most of the Jews and winter solstice-y pagan types I know are still Christmas-friendly, as far as Santa & all that, so I can’t imagine anyone getting up in arms about a holiday card.  I’m an atheist, but I don’t get “offended” by the nativity scene cards – I just take it as a statement of what the holiday means to the sender and that they want to share that.  As long as they only do it once a year – and it’s not accompanied by an invitation to midnight mass (haha) – I’m fine with that!   

  13. I send out about 100 holiday cards each year, with it a newsletter about my year (and now about my family’s year.)The cards I purchase are boxed, cheap and cute. The general sentiment is ‘Seasons Greetings!’ or ‘Happy Holidays’!Occasionally, if I see a super cute one, I’ll send a “Merry Christmas” or Santa-themed one to friends who I KNOW celebrate Christmas – usually my closest friends get the best cards :)So, my answer would be #3.

  14. Almost all of my sendees have young kids, or care about my young kids, so I do a photo and happy holiday message.  This year I think the text says something like, “wishing you a beautiful holiday season and a lovely new year,” and the graphics are vaguely secular Christmas.  Holly, I think.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE getting the holiday cards from the people on my list, especially when they include photos or newsletters, but I must admit…I barely glance at the text of the “plain” ones (no photo, no letter, no note).  So, I figure the people on my list probably feel the same way.  And if they don’t, well, that’s okay.

  15. sure I’ve been offended by a card. when people who are quite aware of my atheism send me a Jesus loves you card, it offends me. I compare it to signing up a vegetarian friend to the Meat of the Month club. People need to be more careful in their card-choosing abilities, or better yet, don’t bother sending any card at all. Trust me, if you don’t send me a Giftmas card, I really won’t mind. Save your stamps for something more important, like paying bills. We need to prioritize these things. 

  16. I usually have nicer (ie, more expensive!) cards that I send to ‘close’ friends and family, and then another cheaper and more generic option that I send to people who are either more on the relationship-outskirts or who I think might be offended by/not prefer the others.  Some holidays I just send religious-sentiment-type cards to everyone, regardless, and other years I tailor card-to-recipient more.  Just call me Mrs. Inconsistent.

Leave a Reply

