NEW YEAR’S REVOLUTIONS

In 2009, I resolve:

 

  1. No smoking.  Not one cigarette.  This is a common resolution I’ve decided to adopt as my own.  Millions of people can’t be wrong, can they?  Besides, since I don’t smoke, it’s a surefire win.
  2. Read more, blog less.  Y’all gave me a lengthy list of great books the other day, and I’ll never get to them all if I spend all my free time fiddleflipping around on Xanga.
  3. Blog more, read less.  You might think this resolution contradicts the previous one, but it does not.  When I am fiddleflipping around on Xanga, I hope plan to spend more of that time writing well-crafted, thought-provoking, or at least mildly amusing posts and less time mindlessly, repeatedly clicking on my subscription page to see if anyone’s updated, or even worse, checking to see if any of the featured posts are well-crafted, thought-provoking, or mildly amusing.  Odds are poor.
  4. Sell my persuasive writing book.  What, you didn’t know I wrote a book on persuasive writing?  You haven’t seen it at Barnes and Noble?  That’s because it’s languishing in my desk drawer when it should be gracing the slush pile of every publisher in the U.S.A.  On the other hand, having failed to persuade a publisher to buy my book on persuasive writing, how persuasive can I really be?  Maybe I should just lock the drawer and write a book on procrastination.
  5. Eh, that’s enough.  Gotta go read.

 

 

5 thoughts on “NEW YEAR’S REVOLUTIONS

Leave a Reply

