SOCRATES I AM NOT

Last night Tigger asked me why soap operas are called “soap operas.”  I did not know the answer to that question.

“Use the power of the internet, Grasshopper,” I told her.  “Wikipedia shall reveal all.”

“And then,” I added, “you can tell me what you found out.”

“Pft,” that disobedient grasshopper replied, “YOU look it up.”

“Excuse me?  You’re the one who asked the question.” 

“Yes, but you want to know too.  So you can look it up and tell me.”  This from a kid who piddles away her free time watching endless, brainless youtube videos.  Like a quick side trip to Wikiland would be too much trouble.

“I will look it up,” I told her, “but I won’t tell you the answer.”

“Yes you will,” she decided.  “You will be dying to tell someone, and the pressure of the information will build and build, and finally it will spill out.”

So I looked it up.  But I’m not telling Tigger why soap operas are called soap operas.  And I’m not telling you either.  So there.

19 thoughts on “SOCRATES I AM NOT

  1. LOL Because they were sponsored by the soap companies. The scary part is, I know that because I was watching when they were still live. VERY scary!

  2. Because they were sponsored by dish soap makers, right?  Advertisers? I’m pretty sure I learned that years and years and years and years ago.  But my brain is starting to lose information now that I’m almost 40, so maybe I’m misremembering. 

  3. Scarier than RedHairCelt’s comment, is that I remember them from RADIO.   Mama listened to Our  Gal Sunday and Stella Dallas.   After I married and before we got a TV, I listened to them too.   That was early 50s.   Am I old or what??

  4. Am I the only person who doesn’t watch soaps?  I may have had a taste when I was pregnant but soon discovered I didn’t like them.  Yet I am now ready for Dancing with the Stars and Survivor.

  5. I am impressed at your fortitude in withholding information (is withholding the only word in the english language with 2 “h”s in a row? it was weird to type.).  In honor of you, I shall withhold the rest of this comment. 

  6. I always thought they were called “Soap Operas” because they were all sponsored by detergents, dishwashing liquids, et. al.  Back in the day, I think that sponors reasoned that stay-at-home women were the only ones who watched.  And of course, a woman couldn’t possibly be interested in anything that did not pertain to keep one’s home “spotless.”Thank GAWD times have changed……

  7. I see that most everyone knows the answer—especially if they are “Seniors”.  When I was little, back in New Jersey in the late 40’s, I was sick so much during the winters that I missed a LOT of school.  Usually over 60 days a year!  Anyway, I can still remember sitting up in bed, listening to the radio during the day.  Listened to all the soap operas—and hated to go back to school and miss them again.  When we moved to Arizona, I didn’t get sick much , so didn’t listen to them anymore.  Then we got TV and Mother liked to watch As The World Turns.  When I got married, I got hooked on all of them.  Now, I only watch Young and Restless.  Have watched it from it’s first day.  Seen and heard LOTS of soap commercials in all those years!! 

  8. heeeeeeeeeeeeh..i looked it up …it mean a opera of soap…soap here meaning cleaning out your mind..to fill it with mindless gumballs of information…{okay i guessed, was i close???}

  9. It’s pfft, not pft. there are two Fs. Also, cross-dressing palm trees rule.this has been a public announcement from tigger.over and out.

Leave a Reply

