A TENDENCY TO TENANCY WITHOUT TENETS

I know you are all anxiously awaiting my review of the Quiverfull book, but I decided to review my new bread machine first (a decidedly more pleasant topic).  Check it out.

And while I’m here, I wanted to defend what’s left of the English language.  These remarks are aimed at those who blog and comment about religious issues.

Your religion does NOT have “tenants.”  A tenant is a person who lives on your property and pays you rent.

tenant
–noun

1. a person or group that rents and occupies land, a house, an office, or the like, from another for a period of time; lessee.
2. Law. a person who holds or possesses for a time lands, tenements, or personalty of another, usually for rent.
3. an occupant or inhabitant of any place.

I repeat, your religion does not have tenants, except perhaps for the church mice.

Your religion DOES have “tenets.”  Tenets are the things your religion teaches you to believe.

tenet
–noun
any opinion, principle, doctrine, dogma, etc., esp. one held as true by members of a profession, group, or movement.

See the difference?  For the love of Mike (who is Mike, anyway?), please apply these words correctly next time.  Thank you.

14 thoughts on “A TENDENCY TO TENANCY WITHOUT TENETS

  1. What I want to know is…  what affect do religious tenants have on a persons believes later in life?     (j/k 😉    Hey, these bloggers/commentators have NOTHING on my college students, who just make up words when they don’t know the correct usage. 

  2. Yes, thank you!  Know what you’re talking about when you express your opinions!  Maybe we should all post this at the top of our blogs, just to remind everyone.

  3. Ah the mammary of all those grate literary works and the proper English they inspire.  I find it hard to understand why spell check can’t help folks pick the write word for whatever it is they right.  * Seriously,  I had a friend we called “Malaprop Man” for his distinguished use of the wrong word that was close onomatopoetically, but was the wrong word almost every time.  It’s the verbal equivalent to this.

  4. I just caught up on your last few blogs – I personally dislike tenants in any context, misused or not.  It comes of having rental property… (-:Now i am going to go read your review.  And, OH LORD, those quiverfull people are freaking CRAZY.  The sane ones seem to define quiverfull as the number of children God intended for you to have (and that number can vary a lot), but I have a cousin who is part of that movement and they have had 5 kids in as many years of marriage.  He is certifiably insane, I’m afraid.  Of course, I think if his wife had rougher pregnancies this foolishness would not persist.  Why convince grown up people of your religious views when you can brainwash your own children and grow your religion that way!?  Hmm. Clearly this is an irritating topic for me. I think I will go read about your bread machines!

  5. My biggest problem of late is spelling! It is so hard for me who was a champ in elementary school to find now I can’t spell and spend more time trying to find the word in the dictionary. Apostrophe’s and I do not get along and never had. But I catch myself going “no no that is two words not one” at so many blogs.

  6. So funny.     As a lover of words, I am appalled at some of what I read out there.    My favorite is the “Calvery” coming to the rescue and the crucifixion on “Cavalry.” 

  7. P. S. “Mike” was our tenant. His toothrbrush is still around somewhere, but his tenancy has terminated, and his tendency to wander has temporarily and terribly resumed. Lisa

Leave a Reply

