Powerless

I’ve been very quiet over here about my real life, and not only because I’m addicted to the devil facebook.  It’s mostly because my real life sucks, and how much frustration, failure, and misery can I spew all over you nice people and still feel good about myself?  (That was a joke, of course.  I don’t feel good about myself anyway.  I may as well spew.) 

I can’t really let it fly, though, and perhaps not being able to talk about it (powerless) only exacerbates my inability to fix it (powerless). When the absence of power is the crux of the problem, it is really difficult to scrape up the power to overcome it, if you see what I mean.

Fortunately, the whole world is crumbling, so there are lots of other things to spew about.  Take the impending government shutdown, for example.  This morning’s news report indicates that the Titans of Congress have agreed on nearly everything, but still might fail to close the budget deal.  The hang up: Planned Parenthood.  Our Republican friends are prepared to shut down the federal government and furlough hundreds of thousands of workers if the Dems don’t agree to defund Planned Parenthood.  They say it’s because they don’t want taxpayer money funding abortions. 

They lie.

Taxpayer money already doesn’t fund abortion.  Every single dime the feds contribute to Planned Parenthood and other such organizations pays for other family planning and reproductive health services, like contraception, STD testing and treatment, prenatal care, and routine gynecological health care.  For many, many women, Planned Parenthood is the only source of health care available to them.  Destroying the organization will cause a massive increase in the number of unplanned pregnancies and yes, more abortions. 

If you think any money provided for the organization must also fund abortions, you do not understand how the federal grant process works.  The documentation requirements are extensive, and the organization must account for every last cent, and every last cent must go to some non-abortion expense. Our Republican friends know this, of course.  They have another agenda and they are willing to monkey with the livelihoods of many to pursue it.  See, they don’t actually want women to have access to contraception and reproductive health care, because that gives them (sluts!) entirely too much autonomy (power).
  
I would also write about Rep. Paul Ryan’s new budget plan, The Path to Prosperity for the Already Prosperous, but I already did.  Read it here. 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a rock to crawl under.

5 thoughts on “Powerless

  1. In my experience, which after a decade out of work is admittedly limited, there are days when it’s a good idea to begin talking about powerlessness and days when it is a good idea to huddle under the rock and soak up some muddy shade.

  2. I’m looking for the huge hole I’d like to climb in and pull the rock over. Thought I’d call my Congressman but he is a Dem.  The Senator let me know years ago she paid attention to staff and not my opinion. Nicely of course. When she ran for Gov. of TX I voted against her.

  3. I didn’t read the link that you posted, I don’t have to.I am OUTRAGED at what they are trying to do with Planned Parenthood.    I think the ones that are against it probably think their children were raised with better morals than that of someone of a different party.  They may be right, but um, HELLO???  BRISTOL PALIN!!!!I WISH my daughter would have gone to Planned Parenthood when she decided to go on birth control.  I thought she would learn the first time around, but nooooo… instead of a brain fart, she had a brain shit.  She now has 2 children, both under the age of 5, that the state is paying for health care, helping out with living assistance, and food stamps.  If she would have just made that trip to planned parenthood in the first place, she wouldn’t be in such a jam.  She is Pro life, so she wouldn’t have gotten an abortion in the first place.  Now, the government is paying MORE for her to live when they could have prevented it at all.Not to mention, when girls got knocked up when I was a teen, they had to drive a hundred miles or so to get an abortion, because our planned parenthood would not give them one without consent.UGH!  Done with my rant.  I’ll crawl under your rock with you, and we will share cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

