4.6 Things You Should Know about Me

 

1.    I complained incessantly about the cold, wet weather throughout the spring and summer, until my friends told me to shut up already.  But I like the cold, wet weather of fall, even though it is objectively identical to the cold, wet weather of Seattle’s most recent spring and summer.  In fact, fall is my favorite season.

 

2.    I would like to learn to play the guitar, but I can’t sing.  Is there any point in playing guitar if you’re not going to sing along?

 

3.    All those foods that are supposed to be good for you that most people apparently don’t enjoy are my favorite foods.  I feel lucky that way.  I also love dark chocolate and red wine—also good for you.  Truly, I am blessed.

 

4.    I am not doing any damn dishes today.  None.

 

4.6.  I am 4.6 x 10 years old today.  My ten-year-old insists that I am not old.  “You’re not even halfway to 93!”

 

 

12 thoughts on “4.6 Things You Should Know about Me

  1. I, on the other hand, will do dishes today in your honor.  I will also be doing several loads of laundry and picking up all the toys off the family room floor–all the while thinking, “It’s TR’s birthday.  I hope she’s having more fun than I am.”I can’t sing, either, but I do it all the time.  My children hate it.  That’s one of the reasons I do it.  I would take up guitar, but it isn’t practical, what with all the laundry and dishes I’m doing.

  2. Happy birthday!!!  re: the guitar, duh, of course there’s a point in playing if you’re not going to sing along…although I predict you will sing along despite yourself.  If I had known it was your birthday I would have sent you some red wine or maybe chocolates, preferably in the shape of the Great State of…oh, I mean, in the shape of guitars or vegetables or fall squashes or something.

  3. Dishes are lame. I haven’t done mine, either. Guitar is beautiful whether one can sing or not. I really like a lot of classical guitar. Or you can meet up with somebody who does sing, or provide music for your hilarious children.

  4. Happy birthday! 21with 21 years experience I say about me. I constantly complain about the heat here, it’s stifling. ๐Ÿ™‚ Dishes are over rated. Ha ha

  5. Happy Birthday! A little late, I know, but the festivities should not be confined to a single day, in my opinion.  Also, I just bought a guitar and am (slowly) learning to play – it is wonderful! You don’t have to be able to sing to sing along.  (-:  And now I want some dark chocolate. Not so much the wine, but definitely some dark chocolate!

Leave a Reply

