Home for the Holidays

So I dropped my kid off at her 7:30 zero period class and headed for the coffee shop to get some work done. This has been my habit since school started in September. But today I opened my computer and realized I don’t have any work to do.

My main freelance gig ended a couple of weeks ago. The class I was taking ended a few days ago. I now have one ongoing job that happens two days a week and a handful of clients who send me occasional work, none of whom are sending any at the moment. I can’t even check the job boards because it’s too early for anything new to have been posted since I last checked, yesterday. So I guess it’s time to start blogging in earnest.

Things I would like to accomplish this month:

  • Lining up a new job to start in January
  • Getting various broken machines fixed
  • Attending to several administrative life tasks involving banks, doctors, and insurance
  • Cleaning my office

That’s enough for one month of underemployment that includes celebrating the major holiday of a religion I don’t subscribe to, right? The cognitive dissonance alone takes a lot of energy.

We’ve already done Chanukah, which came early this year. For Christmas we do only small, stocking-stuffer presents. But we also have a tree. Why do we have a tree? Elder child Tigger insisted we had to have one, and I couldn’t think of a good reason to refuse. What the heck; it’s a pagan thing anyway. So that’s three religions I don’t practice accounted for. What I need is a Goddess to make an offering to. If I’m going to engage in faux religious cultural rituals, I would rather dispense with the all male, all the time deities. Can we talk the reality of human creation here? We are born of our mothers.

I’m sure the Goddess would appreciate the Christmas cookies I make every year, with the recipe handed down from my Jewish grandmother. I’m sure I’ve posted the recipe in years past, but here it is again.

 

Grammy’s Butterballs

1 cup butter
½ cup sugar
2 eggs, separated
2 ¼ cups flour
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped walnuts
red and green candied cherries

  1. Cream butter and sugar
  2. Add beaten egg yolks
  3. Add flour and salt
  4. Mix well
  5. Shape dough into 1-inch balls
  6. Roll balls in slightly beaten egg whites
  7. Roll balls in chopped nuts
  8. Press ½ cherry on top of each one
  9. Bake at 325 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes

You’re welcome.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. It is incredible how the business world shuts down December. Tough time to line up a job, in my experience as both the person being hired and the one doing the hiring. Focus on the butterballs for now and look ahead to January!

    • Yeah. I do have some prospects, but nothing solid. And a few weeks ago I had a good phone screen (I thought) and expected to get called in for a face-to-face interview, but I never heard from that woman again. I even sent a polite “just checking in” email to give her a chance to do the right thing and let me know what my status was, but still no response. Is it just me, or is that really rude?

  2. When I was a kid my mother insisted that it wasn’t a Christmas Tree; it was a Chanukah Bush. 😀

    I’m not into that whole invisible space people thing, but Amethyst’s pagan thing and my pantheism mesh well together. On Yule she’ll go out to pour some red wine on the ground for whatever the heck that means to her, and I’ll appreciate her reverence of Earth, and drink some red wine because I appreciate mild intoxication. 🙂

    Happy holidays even if there’s no holy in the days, just because it’s really very cool to be alive!

    • Frowned upon, yes, unless you go to the beach. You’re allowed to have bonfires on the sand. Years ago I used to do Solstice fires on the beach with a friend. We wrote scripts for pagan-sounding rituals and performed them quickly, because it’s freaking cold on the beach in December.

Leave a Reply

