TR the Tech Professional

I was going to fold the laundry, but the cat is peacefully snoozing on top of it. I was going to begin cleaning my office, but the magnitude of the mess overwhelmed me. So I made a cup of tea and sat down to blog.

Image

Job search news: A friend and fellow editor had an offer of work she could not take. She posted (on the devil Facebook) a call for her comrades to step up and take it on. Up I stepped, and so I will soon have some freelance work editing dissertations for grad students. Now I have to set my price. How much will students who desperately want those doctoral degrees pay to make their lackluster prose shine and get their participles undangled?

In the meantime, the hunt for a steady job continues.

Also in the meantime, I signed up for a web design class, which begins in January. Pasting my ramblings into a free blog is about the extent of my current skill level in that realm. So an intro class will greatly increase it, I hope. Not that I’m expecting to get a techie job anytime soon. I’m too old and way too far behind the curve for that. But, many non-profits are even farther behind that curve and if I can write their grants AND manage their websites, all the better for my prospects.

Another benefit: credit. The college credits for the web design class, combined with the credits I earned for another class this quarter and the credits I earned a few years ago will make me eligible to have my long-lapsed teaching certificate reinstated. That will reopen another avenue for gainful employment. And I ask you, who wouldn’t want to be a substitute special ed teacher?

There it stands. Now I will abandon my messy office again and go run some errands. But alas, the moment of reckoning is coming.

11 thoughts on “TR the Tech Professional

  1. My counsel is always to set your price at the level of your greatest tolerable embarrassment, and justify it *only* through the quality of your work. If you get it right, you’ll work less but make every bit as much money as you would setting your rate too low, and avoid the misery of deadline stress.

    My office needs serious work, too. 😀

  2. bahaha who WOULDN’T want to be one. I don’t know. I’m a COMPLETELY FREE, volunteer, elementary school substitute teacher.

    • Now that I wouldn’t do, and it’s not kosher here, anyway. I don’t know if it’s actually illegal or if the union won’t allow it, but all substitutes must be certificated and paid. There’s also the possibility of getting an ongoing full- or part-time teaching job. Someone has to save this generation!

        • Wait…you’ve got a teaching certificate?

          And, it’s okay with everyone because it’s just, you know,
          moms with nothing better to do, and it’s the least they could do to support their kids’ school, right?

          • oh, no. Not a teaching certificate. I had to be certified by the district (training program, fingerprinting, criminal background check) to be a substitute teacher.

            I occasionally consider alternative certification. But then I realize….NO.

  3. $25 an hour. Some people charge by the page for various detailed services (i.e. anywhere from $1 per page for final formatting of clean copy to $3 a page for thorough edits), but INEVITABLY there is always more work than either you or the client foresees, so I suggest hourly.

  4. $25 an hour. Some people charge by the page for various detailed services (i.e. anywhere from $1 per page for final formatting of clean copy to $3-$4 a page for thorough edits), but INEVITABLY there is always more work than either you or the client foresees, so I suggest hourly.
    Tiff

Leave a Reply

