Personals, Schmersonals

Well, my birthday went pretty much as planned, though I completely forgot about the wine. I’m out of practice with the drinking.

Several things I didn’t know were going to happen, happened. A couple of things I hoped would happen, didn’t. Such is the way of things and always will be.

I can see why Buddhism and some other religious/philosophical approaches encourage adherents to free themselves from wanting. Wanting anything. If you don’t want anything, you can’t fail to get what you want, so no disappointment, only serenity. Or something like that.

Take this longing from my tongue
All the useless things my hands have done…

Speaking of disappointment, I’ve decided to set the whole personal ad project away indefinitely. Even aside from the degradation of advertising oneself like a piece of used furniture (structurally sound, could use refinishing), it seems like an exercise in futility that could only possibly lead to disappointment and other unpleasant emotional states.

Perhaps I will devote year 39 (give or take) to the study of Buddhism. But probably not, because like nearly all religious/philosophical frameworks, it seems rather male-centric in ways that are bound to be…disappointing to me.

So, scratch that plan and all the others. Instead I will

  1. work
  2. take care of my kids

That’s enough activity for a year, isn’t it?

11 thoughts on “Personals, Schmersonals

  1. Yes, I think I’m turning into a Buddhist without doing any studying of Buddhism, other than reading the anger book. I did not realize Buddhists oppose wanting. I see now that wanting things is dangerously likely to lead to disappointment. Not wanting them is a much easier path to serenity. I approve of the ditching of the personal ad project. Not that you were looking for approval. You’re trying to STOP looking for approval, right? And yes, that is plenty of activity.

  2. Religion.

    You know, it’s funny, but it seems to me that without the dogmatic influence of an authoritarian hierarchy, most religions tend to become…well, something other. In the middle east, for instance, many began to see their religion as more of an an ethnic identity. And in places where religions are nearby or coexist, a lot of osmosis occurs. The way I see it, religion is kind of like an unimportant object. Like Dumbo’s feather. Or maybe it’s more like a whetting stone. It isn’t the religion that’s important, it’s how you relate to it, how it shapes and sharpens you. Unless there’s an authoritarian regime cutting people’s heads off if they don’t acknowledge the divinity of the feather. Dumbo could never fly without a head because that’s where his ears are.

      • Oh no, it absolutely does, especially these days. Historically, I think there may have been a little more play involved, at least in some locations. There are saints that were revered by both Muslims and Hindus, for example. If you look at the minority religions in the middle east, religion takes on a tribal connotation. And this early in the morning, I can’t remember my point, if there ever was one. 😀

      • What I’m really trying to point out is that religion is always experienced in a personal way. Despite the picture of the ‘ideal adherent’ that dogmatists want to sell, no two people experience any religion in exactly the same way. Likewise, religion tends to take on a unique local meaning. How many different branches of Protestantism are there? Pretty sure I’ve heard it’s in the thousands. I have no idea what I was originally going for, but it might have just been that you don’t have to be, nor can you be, anybody’s kind of Buddhist, or anything else, but your own.

  3. When you think about it, everything in life, one way or another, has a dogmatic authoritarian hierarchy. You have the choice whether to follow it or not.
    Now I’m worried about Dumbo’s ears.

  4. Pingback: because life is serious, we play | gambolinthegrammar

Leave a Reply

